She Forgot to Mention One Little Thing

My daughter “HATES” Christmas music. She’s been saying this for over two years now but could never give me a reason. I don’t believe that she really hates it, maybe it annoys her, but hate! That’s a pretty strong feeling to have against Frosty.

We tease her about it occasionally, but this morning we decided to take it up a notch:

  • Every time we walked by her, or were in hearing range, we’d “accidentally” sing a Christmas song.
  • We determined that El wanted to listen to (rather loud) Chipmunks singing Rocking Around the Christmas Tree while he was in his bouncer. He loved it. She did not.
  • We thought it would be fun to play more Christmas songs — after making sure the music could be heard from where she was sitting downstairs.
  • We told her we were thinking of installing a whole house stereo system.
  • My favorite part of the morning was when I found all the Christmas songs she used to love as a little kid on You Tube, then posted them on her Facebook page.

She loves us. And I know she secretly still loves Christmas music. Or, maybe I’m just really evil.

“They get stuck in my head all day,” she explained this evening.

She’s probably laying in bed now, counting reindeer, trying to fall asleep. I should go sing her a lullaby..

18 thoughts on “She Forgot to Mention One Little Thing

  1. LOL your poor daughter! πŸ˜‰

    I’m with her – I like Christmas music in small doses but I hate how the radio stations play it 24/7 and it is EVERYWHERE for over a month!

    1. They started really early here this year! It was playing in a local store one day in the beginning of October! I think they were just testing it out but oh boy was Natalie angry!

    1. I like Thanksgiving the best of all the holidays, it’s one of the only holidays here that isn’t overly commercialized. Plus, it’s a food day! I’ll have to work on coming up with a song to sing just for you next week though!

  2. LMAO! Hilarious! Your picture for this post is killing me, love the Chipmunks Christmas. I forget the name of the song, but I always sing the one part, “me, I want a hula hoop” over and over Rain Man style in the highest Alvin imitation voice I can muster. It drive my BF batty! LOVE IT! πŸ˜‰

      1. YESSSS!!!!!! Best Christmas song ever! I hope so too, my fat a$$ needs one! lol πŸ™‚ You’ve just made my BF’s night hell! He doesn’t even know! Can’t wait til he get home, hahahah! *rubs hands together with evil grinn* lol. You know what else I love? Emmet Otter’s Jug Band Christmas! I need to order that one. Off to sing “me I want a hula hoop” over and over…

Leave a Reply

