The Kitchn Cure: Cure My Kitchen| Day Six

The Kitchn Cure | Day Six:

Consider appliances, gadgets and tools Day Six of the kitchen cure has been a lot of fun to get together. It was the easiest task I’ve done so far and only took as long as putting this post together. This is the day where you can either choose to buy items that will help you out in the kitchen (spend option) or make a wish-list of items you’d eventually like to purchase (no spend option). I chose the “no-spend” option and created a wish-list. I had such a great time coming up with this list, I hope you’ll enjoy looking through it!

Food Canisters

Food Canisters
The Container Store – $99.99

When we realized we needed new containers for dry food storage we decided on these Good Grips POP canisters. I didn’t want a whole set because I didn’t know what the small ones would be used for. Instead, we bought some large ones for flour, sugar, and cereals. These containers are really nice! What I like the most about them is the way they feel — solid but not heavy. The lid is fun, easy to use, and simple to clean. They are nice to look at and hardly take up any space in the cabinet. Now that I’ve had some time to think about it, I’d like to get the set. The little ones will be great for baking goodies like chocolate chips and toffee pieces! The other ones will be used for pasta, rice, nuts, our other flours and sugars.

Butter Crock

Butter Crock
Williams Sonoma – $35.00

Not exactly sure of what a butter crock is? Well, I’ll tell you! A butter crock is a ceramic container that allows you to store butter outside of the fridge. The butter stays soft and spreadable for 30 days! All you have to do is add a little cold water to the bottom of the canister and then press a softened stick of butter into the top. Cool right? We’ve been looking for one for quite a while but they aren’t usually stocked in the stores. I really love the color of this Le Creuset crock. I normally don’t like the ombre effect they use on their products now, but I do like it on this. It’s so cheerful that I wouldn’t mind seeing it out on the counter.

Basting Brush

Basting Brush
Sur La Table – $11.00

This is one of those tools that I never remember I need.. Until I need it! A basting brush isn’t used all that often here but when a recipe requires one I sure do have a hard time coming up with an alternative! I usually resort to dipping a paper towel in my liquid and attempt it brush it on. Or, I’ll use a small measuring cup to drizzle the liquid on. Neither method works well so this is definitely a tool we could use! What I really like about this Le Creuset brush is the color! The basting tip also feels very nice and I know it will be easier and more effective to use than my makeshift techniques.

Meat Tenderizer

Meat Tenderizer
Crate and Barrel – $16.95

I like to flatten my chicken breasts before pan frying them; I really love thin and crispy chicken! Normally when I need to pound the chicken I use a small sauce pan because I don’t have a tenderizer. This method works out okay but it is a little awkward and can be tiring. I also always wonder if I am damaging the handle on on my pot. This OXO Meat Tenderizer has a nice weight to it and fits comfortably in my hands. It offers two non-stick sides – one for tenderizing and the other for flattening.

7 thoughts on “The Kitchn Cure: Cure My Kitchen| Day Six

  1. oooh, LOVE those containers! I was just telling the BF the other day that we need something JUST like that! And Le Creuset, honey, I LOVE ANYTHING Le Creuset! I really like the blue! I have a piece in red that I’m trying to expand upon…

    1. The containers are really, really nice! The nice thing is that they sell them as separate pieces, too. The Container Store offers a ton of different ones, including glass ones that are beautiful, but I am a clutz so I chose these lol

      We have a lot of Le Crueset! It really is a nice product, I’d like to try Stuab, because I think they are beautiful, I just don’t know if they are as good as Le Crueset.. Have you tried anything of theirs?

      1. I’ve always wanted to go to the container store, though I’ve been a little afraid that I’d lose myself with the tons of wonderful gadgets and all! I should check out their website first, that might by a little more safe for me. lol. Lucky girl!! I need some more LC in my life! Don’t believe I’ve heard of Stuab?? I know Steuben (but that’s glassware). I’m gonna check it out.

Leave a Reply

