Happiness at Fourteen

Yesterday was my middle child’s birthday. He turned 14. 14! I can hardly believe how fast it all goes by. I’m pretty sure that is the same anthem every parent sings and it isn’t newsย  that kids grow up so fast. But 14!

We didn’t have a birthday party for him — I stopped those when they hit age 10 and all they wanted to have were expensive and annoying sleepovers. Instead, we had a really nice day, all five of us, just hanging around the house and feeling happy. BF decided to get my son his favorite dinner as a surprise, then we sang Happy Birthday, had ice-cream cake and watched a movie together.

What made me happiest about the day was that even though we didn’t do anything spectacular, or go anywhere expensive, my son told me it was the best birthday he’s had in years. He was so grateful for his gift and grateful that we only thought of him for the day. It makes me feel so good that after all the crap we’ve been through he is genuinely the happiest I’ve ever seen him.

Our home has never been happier or more loving than it is now. Gone are the days of worrying about being ourselves, feeling anxious, or worrying about what the days and nights might hold. We walk through the rooms of this house not having to anticipate being yelled at, argued with, or antagonized. Now we walk through this house laughing, joking and smiling with one another.

Life feels good, and it’s wonderful to hear my son say it, and to know how good he feels inside these days.

8 thoughts on “Happiness at Fourteen

  1. Thank goodness the last 16+ years are just a footnote. I’m so happy for all of you. Thank goodness for your BF and I’m so glad that his attitude has rubbed off on all of you.

  2. Ginger–your post made me cry–not for sadness but because I am SO happy for you that you have found love and peace and that you finally have the family and family life you deserve. I’ve often wondered about your middle child and how he was doing…so pleased to read that he sounds to be doing pretty great. My older child, Shane, turned 35 on Nov 7! How is that even possible??? As Spock and Sheldon Cooper would say…”does not compute…does not compute…”

    Today is a bittersweet one for me…it is my 41st wedding anniversary but as you know, my Gary isn’t with me to celebrate. I am a soup of emotions today, remembering our wedding when we were mere children (19), and all our happy years together, and yet missing him so much today that it physically hurts me, and trying to handle the anger and disappointment I still feel because we didn’t get to grow old together the way we had always planned…(and now I’m crying again, so I apologize)… But I think my point in telling you this is to say to embrace the happiness you’ve found and to hold on to it tightly for whatever amount of time you are given together…that is my wish for you today….hugs.

    PS
    Thanks for dropping me a note on my blog; I will be writing again really soon, I promise, but I so appreciate knowing that other people actually can care about a woman they’ve never even met in ‘real life’. (Although if the stories and truths we share via our blogs aren’t ‘real life’ then I’m not sure what is!)

    Also, great post!

    1. Sylvia, first I want to say I’m glad you are just taking a break, I was worried and have been looking for you, so I’m glad to see you ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’m so sorry to hear that you are feeling so down, on especially what is a day when you should be celebrating. I do not know what you must be feeling or going through. I’m sorry he was taken away from you much too soon. I can understand your anger, I would feel the same if I were in your shoes. Life can really be so unfair and unexplainable and I have asked myself why many, many times.

      While I can’t tell you not to feel sorrow for your loss, I hope you are thinking of the good times and remembering every great moment the two of you have shared. You are lucky to have had such great love in your life, not all people do, and I hope through your sadness, that thought will make you feel a little better.

      I am looking forward to reading you again soon, and I have to agree with you that us bloggers know each other well. I certainly consider you a friend and I know there are other bloggers that do, too.

      I’ll be thinking of you! And here is a big hug!!

  3. What a great post! glad to hear that things changed for the better. It’s a difference between day and night, it seems. 14 is all grown up (well, almost). I remember when I was 14 and had one of those “annoying” sleep overs with the twin and our friends – boy, that’s already so long ago. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. It really is like day and night. It feels so great. So, so great! I bet your sleepover was a ton of fun for you and your friends.. Your parents not so much ๐Ÿ™‚ The largest sleepover I ever let them have was 11 kids. 11. In my tiny house. Needless to say, that was the last “big” party. I might still be recovering from that one hehe

Leave a Reply

