The Kitchn Cure: Cure My Kitchen| Day Four

Day four of the Kitchn Cure has certainly been the most rewarding (albeit time-consuming) part of the project. I’ve cleaned things that I never knew could be cleaned and if I didn’t know any better I’d think my kitchen was brand new.

The Kitchn Cure | Day Task Four: 

Deep clean every part of your kitchen.

Like days one, two, and three of the Kitchn Cure, this task was supposed to take 1-2 hours. At this point, I can’t help but to laugh. Who are these people? Either they have housekeepers that come in once a week, no children, no jobs, and are just super tidy neat freaks or they have ridiculous amounts of energy. I kid, I kid. (Sort of.)

If it took only 1-2 hours to deep clean every nook and cranny of your kitchen, well, my hat’s off to you. If you are like me (and the other 95% of the population) this task took at least 6 hours. We deserve high five’s AND a chest bump!

I didn’t want to burn myself out so I took the drag it out as long as you can approach. I worked on a big task most mornings and then did smaller things through out the days.

The big tasks were cleaning:

  • the outside of all the cabinets
  • baseboards
  • walls
  • behind the refrigerator — including vacuuming the coil & front grill
  • under the cooking range
  • oven

The small tasks were cleaning:

  • sink — shining it too!
  • under the sink
  • windows
  • dishwasher
  • utensil crocks
  • vases
  • furniture
  • coffee machine
  • back door
  • trash can/recycle bin
  • other things that I forget 😛

I was really worried about cleaning the inside of the oven but it wasn’t difficult at all. I confess to cheating by using Easy Off instead of the healthier alternative of baking soda, but hey, it’s clean. And now that I’ve found the easier way to do it, it’ll get done more than once every 5 years!

The hardest part was cleaning under the range. It was DISGUSTING. I was worried about the gas lines so I was super careful and took my time. The grease and gunk that had collected underneath the stove top were intimidating but I crossed my fingers then sprayed it good with Method all-purpose cleaner and let it sit for a few minutes. Let me tell you something — Method is the best cleaner I’ve ever used. Ever. We have all of their cleaning products, and I love all of them, but the all-purpose on is my absolute favorite! If you haven’t tried it, I highly recommend you do, you won’t be disappointed!

I’m looking forward to days 5-10, mostly because I am pretty much done all of them already! Since it was taking me such a long time to get days 1-4 done, I was accomplishing days 5 and 6 without intending to! Day 7 is a project “day” which inspired us to work on a few big projects. I know we won’t get them done in a day (maybe not even a week), but I’ll post about the master plan and then move on with the cure. Lastly, days 8-10 are all fun things (I am really looking forward to buying some flowers!) Yay!

I’m still super excited about the Kitchn Cure and I have no regrets. I have to say that I am impressed with myself for not throwing in the towel. If you decide to do the Kitchn Cure let me know; I will happily link up to your progress!

naughteebits.com is linked up! Check out B’s Kitchn Cure Day Four post here

10 thoughts on “The Kitchn Cure: Cure My Kitchen| Day Four

    1. Oh I have been cooking lol maybe that is what has been taking so long haha. Your muffin post inspired me the other day, I have been coming up with all kinda of things to make ahead or make quickly in the morning! Thank you so much for the inspiration, Linda!

  1. YAY! for getting Day 4 scratched off the list! I STILL have the floors to do, waaaahhhh. I wish i could hurry up and nail it, because it appears to all be down hill from here! I did somethings ahead/out of order as well. Hoping that pays off on the back end of things. 🙂 I got flowers before I even did day 4, haha. Hey, they help motivate me! 🙂 Can’t wait to see your next progress! So looking forward to it being over. *giggle*

    1. I think I started the whole project just as an excuse to buy flowers 😉 nahh, it was really for the badge, just kidding! I can’t wait to be done either! Now that we decided to do nablopomo we will be asking ourselves daily what have we done? Lol I’m really excited for real 🙂

      1. #flowerpower they really do help lift the spirits! Can I tell you I was SO down this week because I missed the Farmer’s Market and couldn’t pick up any 😦 I’m super hyped for the badge, I can’t believe I didn’t see it in the first place! I’m a badge freak, haha. You know I already put the nablopomo one up! ;p

        1. Umm. I didn’t see that badge! Where did you get it from lol I need to get on my computer for that! I know what I’ll be doing while drinking my coffee! Woohoo, that’s a big bonus 🙂 I’m sorry you missed the farmers market. Do you have a Trader Joes nearby? They always have inexpensive but very nice flowers in our store!

          1. Crap, I’m on my phone now, shut down the laptop in hopes of disconnecting from the internets, now im on my phone. Fml, lol. I’ll send you the link in the morn, k? I was planning on going to TJs and missed that opp. too. I’m going to do my best to get some this weekend!

Leave a Reply

