The Kitchn Cure: Cure My Kitchen| Day Three

Day three of the Kitchn Cure has been a royal pain in my ass challenge. The assignment was to go thru tools, appliances and gadgets (including dishes, etc.) Easy enough, right? Wrong!

The Kitchn Cure | Day Task Three: 

Declutter appliances, gadgets and tools.

Like days one and two of the Kitchn Cure, this task was supposed to take 1-2 hours. That time frame just didn’t cut it for me. It probably could have, but I got all gun-ho during the first hour.

Yeah.

It took me a week annnnd I’m still not quite finished.

It’s all good though! I haven’t given up and while it felt like I was getting nowhere, I can see that I was getting somewhere.

The first hour of the cure was going well; I had moved all the glassware into one cabinet. I took a picture of the pretty new cabinet and feeling inspired, moved on to the bigger cabinet.

This cabinet had bugged me ever since 2011. Back when I re-painted the cabinets, I never got around to finishing all the insides. Since it was driving me crazy I decided that it was now or never.

I pulled everything out and got to cleaning and then painting but very quickly the project came to a 5 day halt because:

  • the baby woke up
  • I was exhausted
  • it was raining
  • I was overwhelmed
  • we had a wedding to attend
  • I had a hang-over

By Monday I couldn’t stand looking at the half done project anymore and quickly finished up the painting and shelf lining. A few hours later I finally put everything away.

Then I took another break.

Yesterday I wrapped up “day” 3 by rearranging some of our pots and pans. They aren’t staying where they are for too long though! We are picking out a pot rack to hang in the pantry area. I can’t wait to get that done.

It may take until December.

While rearranging the whole damn room I created a pile of things to donate. Once I drop everything off at Good Will our house will be roughly 150 pounds lighter. Okay, that’s an exaggeration.

I think.

I’m terrified to move on to Day Four: deep clean. I think the only thing to really worry about is the oven but the top of the cabinets are pretty gross, so we will see!

By the way, it feels really good to get all of this done! It’s almost as if I am creating a new kitchen. I already have a ton of freed up space and far less clutter! If you decide to do the Kitchn Cure let me know; I will happily link up to your progress!

naughteebits.com is linked up! Check out B’s Kitchn Cure Day Three post here

13 thoughts on “The Kitchn Cure: Cure My Kitchen| Day Three

  1. ooh…love how the glasses look!! I’m a total freak in the cabinet/pantry arranging. It took me a full day (++) on each move to organize each cabinet/shelve to have coordinating color and look! So, from my obsessive point of view, you’ve done a great job! Even if it took a few more days!

    1. Thanks, Linda! I love how the glass cabinet looks, too! I will get the other one looking better once I have the pot rack up and get some more serving dishes! Now that I got rid of so many things I’ll have to buy ones that I love 🙂

  2. Looks great woman! Congrats on FINALLY getting it done!! Glad to hear that I’m not the only one who’s gone outside of the suggested time frames! I’m not looking fwd to Day 4 either, Lord, Allah, Buddah, and anyone else help us! Lol!

    1. Thank you and I am really glad we are going thru it together! I don’t know when I’ll have #4 done but at least there is a weekend coming up 🙂 I can’t wait to see how your’s goes!

        1. I’ve been working on Day 4 and it feels great! I’ve got a few more things to do and then I’ll post! I think once we get past this task the rest will be easier 🙂 You can do it and I can’t wait to read about it 🙂
          I have noticed that not many people are interested in this series, but I’m not giving up. I am excited to move on though lol Have you found the same to be true of your readers?

  3. I SO needed to see this post! I need to go through our kitchen this week to see what we can put in the yard/estate sale on Saturday, and I’ve been dreading it. Now I can take a cue from you. 🙂

    1. Haha! I am finishing up day 4 tomorrow, bought oven cleaner today 🙂

      Luckily I have already done days 5,6,7 and maybe 8 & 9 because I’ve been cleaning but needing a functioning kitchen in the meantime lol.

      I can’t wait to get done this! The have a super cool badge we can put up on our blog when we are done!! I want it!

      1. Waaaiiit! A badge?! I want too! Lol! I hope yo finish 4 tomorrow, then figure out a plan, cause I have to budget in buying gafgets, etc. So, I might be skipping, 5 and 6 for now. I want that bage! It’s all I csn think about now, lol! 🙂

        1. I don’t have all of the money to get all of the things I would like so I decided that I will make a “wish list” post 🙂 it will be a great way to remember the things I need and might offer suggestions to other people 🙂 maybe you could do the same thing!

Leave a Reply

