The Kitchn Cure: Cure My Kitchen| Day Two

After completing day two’s assignment of the Kitchn Cure our kitchen gained much-needed storage and counter space. I also have better insight on what might make the room function better. While working, I created two lists: one of foods that would need restocking and another of containers/organizing items we should buy.

The Kitchn Cure | Day Two:ย 

Declutter and clean your pantry and food storage areas.

Like day one, this task is also supposed to take 1-2 hours. I turned the assignment into somewhat of an event though. BF took little El to visit his parents, so as I cleared out all of our dry storage (baby-free!) I had a few beers. This slowed me down a bit, but none the less, I got my task done and had a good time doing it ๐Ÿ˜‰

Believe it or not, I found only two ingredients in dry storage that had expired: spices and vinegar. THERE WAS A LARGE ASSORTMENT OF EACH! I even posted a picture on tumblr of the spice collection that was past its prime. Naughty cook! I never knew those two items could expire, but they do! And they did, some as far back as in 2006!

If you learn anything from this series of posts, let it be this: Check your spices for expiration!

Aside from the expired items tossed were many almost-empty packages and foods I knew we’d never eat. Again, my line of thinking was this: if I wouldn’t eat it this week then I won’t eat it ever and it was trashed.

Cleaning out the cabinets and pantry wasn’t hard at all. I just sprayed them with some Mrs. Myers and easily wiped them out. After the shelves were clean, the pantry floor got steam mopped and the flour, sugar, and rice canisters were washed. Lastly, shelf liner was added to the spice cabinet and the remaining food was put away.

I thought day two of the Kitchn Cure would be much harder than day one but it really it wasn’t! The process was quite enjoyable; there is something refreshing about getting rid of things that we won’t (or shouldn’t) eat!

If you decide to do the Kitchn Cure let me know; I will happily link up to your progress!

naughteebits.com is linked up! Check out B’s Kitchn Cure Day Two post here

10 thoughts on “The Kitchn Cure: Cure My Kitchen| Day Two

  1. Nice job Ginger! I’d probably tackle the job the same way – but with a glass of wine!! With my 3 moves in less than 2 years, I’ve purged so much that I guess the best part is that my pantry looks fabulous! There is always a bright side to life’s craziness!

    1. There sure is! Purging is always a lot of fun for me, we’ve been doing a lot of it in the past 6 months! We are getting lighter by the week lol It feels great to finally get into the kitchen tho, it’s really been a thorn in my side! I can’t imagine moving as much as you have, I know it was surely a pain, but I bet it was also a bit of fun ๐Ÿ™‚ at least I hope it was a little!

          1. I’m glad too! It will hold me accountable having a bud! I just posted Day 1, linked to you as well! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m a lil anxious about the pantry tomorrow. Today took me over 2 hours today, geesh! Think i’ll head over and read your Day 2, hopefully I can find pointers! Let’s do this! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Hey there! Just wanted to check in, how’s it coming? Day 2 took me 3 hrs, kicked my butt! I JUST now updated with a post. Im hoping to get back on the ball today or tomorrow. How are you holding up?

    1. I have been working on day 3 on and off for a week.. I decided to move everything around and paint and the baby was not so cooperative lol It will be up today! I didn’t give up ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

