Change is Inevitable

Life changes. Sometimes faster than a blink of the eyes.

Other times it is gradual, twisting and turning through the years.

Regardless of the time… Life changes.

People change.
I’ve changed

and I’ve spent a lot of time thinking.
Wishing.
Dreaming of my life that would be.

Since I was a child
as a teen
as a pretend adult.

And then when life got real.

I’ve wanted big things.
Happy days
Loving nights

And over the years, I’ve lived (my moments)
only to quickly dream up the next

Today though, I am just happy to be me.

Happy in my skin,
happy in my reflection
happy in my thoughts of now.

I can’t begin to tell you how genuinely happy I truly am.
In this moment.

With myself,
with my children,
with my family and with my friends.

I am happy.

Big things
happy days
loving nights
they are happening for me,

with me
around me.
Right now.

I’m not daydreaming.
This is real.

I am in control of my life and it feels wonderful!

The edges aren’t so sharp
I’ve let go of the pain
I feel fantastic and I let these feelings go

I can’t say that I’m sorry I haven’t written
I’ve needed some time to focus on me;
it’s done wonders.

I’m back though…
I’ve never felt more alive

πŸ™‚

14 thoughts on “Change is Inevitable

  1. That’s just so wonderful, Ginger, that you’re feeling good about where your life is at. Not many people will say that! I get the sense that your independence feels good – I have been on my own for 5 years now after so many relationships where I lost me, so I totally get that. Enjoy every minute.

    1. Hi Mirrenlee,

      Thank you so much for your support and encouragement!

      This new independence feels wonderful, and while I am still getting help and support from my family and friends, this is certainly the most independent I’ve ever been!

      I think it is interesting that you say you have been in relationships where you’ve lost yourself. That is exactly the place I am coming from. I had long forgotten who I was, and I was quite young when I met the ex so I doubt I ever really even got the chance to know myself.

      It feels really nice to connect with myself in this way and I hope to enjoy this frame of mind forever, or at least for a very long time πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Sawsan, your kind words and support have always stayed with me and helped me keep towards the goals of happiness and strength πŸ™‚ I am so lucky to have a great friend in you!

  2. YAY! I have been thinking of you and hoping you were well. I’ve missed reading about your life. I envy your happiness–I’m working on getting there myself. But I’m sooooo glad for you. You deserve every ounce of this happiness.

    1. Thanks Christine, I am confident you will find your happiness, too! I really try hard to focus on all of the good things, the little moments, and the minor daily accomplishments. There are far too many things that tend to be taken for granted, but those are the very little things that together all add up to a lot of smiles. Bigger issues seem much smaller when you have an army of positive feelings backing you up πŸ™‚

  3. This is amazing news and I’m glad you are back. I’ve missed you and I admit I was a bit concerned but I know we sometimes need a break from writing. Welcome back!

    1. Hi Linneann, I’m glad to be back also, and I am sorry if I worried you, I really just needed some private time to heal and let go of the past. I felt kind of stuck and writing almost tied me to the past. My computer also took a nose dive for a while, but I think it was the universe telling me to focus harder on letting go πŸ™‚ It worked! I can’t wait to catch up with you!

    1. Thank you for reading and commenting! It was very challenging to get to the “now” but you are correct, I am here and there is no where else I would rather be πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

