Social Media Overload, Anyone?

I am not sure about all of you but I am in the midst of social media overload.

I have a WordPress.

I have a Tumblr.

I have a Twitter.

I have a Facebook.

I have a Facebook Page.

I have a Youtube.

I have a Blogspot.

I have a Pinterest.

I have a Polyvore.

And now I have a Posterous.

Am I insane? Well, yes, but for other reasons.

My real question is, does signing up for yet another social media account make me even crazier? Am I the only one with an overflowing amount of creative outlets? I can’t be!

I signed up with Posterous in the hopes that I will be able tie all (or most) of my accounts into one neat and tidy spot. I’ve read a lot of great reviews and I’m putting my faith into words from strangers.

Fingers crossed and please bear with me while I try to figure yet another program out.

ps If you have any tips or advice on how to easily pull this all together, let a girl know ๐Ÿ™‚

21 thoughts on “Social Media Overload, Anyone?

  1. Ginger, I can’t help you with Posterous, but I did recently drop Pinterest because of their user agreement ***fine print! Apparently, as I understand it, the agreement for usage is:

    The material is your own or you have express permission to use it. Period!

    If the material is not your own and the owner of said material finds out you are posting it, they can sue Pinterest.

    Now here is were it gets interesting!!! Pinterest can collect the legal fees from YOU!

    I loved Pinterest, it was such a wonderful resource for creative reference, but I don’t want to get sued for what I keep on my virtual inspiration board! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Dumped it.
    Lynda
    ***Does anybody read that stuff? Really?

    1. Lynda,

      I’ve read a ton of articles about Pinterest’s Terms of Use in the past few weeks. They seem to have quite a few problems, including what you wrote above, but I am going to wait it out for a bit longer, I really love the site and I don’t do any pinning of my on, unless they are my photos. I do participate in repins, but never pulled anything off of the net myself.

      What I feel stronger about is the fact that they claim all copyright to anything pinned to their sight. I worry about the artists, but I know that them writing that in their TOU does not make them above the law and they cannot steal copyright.

      Here is the article I am referring to when I say that:

      http://blogs.scientificamerican.com/symbiartic/2012/03/19/pinterests-terms-of-service-word-by-terrifying-word/?WT_mc_id=SA_WR_2012032168

      It’s a well written article and covers way more than just Pinners being held liable.

      Maybe all the more reason to stop pinning? I do love my day dreaming outlet so very much though ๐Ÿ˜‰

      1. Ginger, I just read the article you posted and THANKS! It is a good one! I also read the the other two that were linked at the bottom. The most recent states that they have removed the “Sell” portion from their license agreement. This is good, but the litigation portion remains intact. Not so good. So for now, I guess we continue to watch and see what shakes out. And yes, I agree, the “daydreaming” value IS great! ๐Ÿ™‚ ~ Lynda

        1. I just got an email from Pinterest that states they updated the TOU. lol, I suppose they lost a ton of members. I can’t read it right now, but I’ve added a copy (minus the links, they wont carry over) below if you want to:

          Updated Terms of Service

          Over the last few weeks, we’ve been working on an update to our Terms. When we first launched Pinterest, we used a standard set of Terms. We think that the updated Terms of Service, Acceptable Use Policy, and Privacy Policy are easier to understand and better reflect the direction our company is headed in the future. We’d encourage you to read these changes in their entirety, but we thought there were a few changes worth noting.

          Our original Terms stated that by posting content to Pinterest you grant Pinterest the right for to sell your content. Selling content was never our intention and we removed this from our updated Terms.
          We updated our Acceptable Use Policy and we will not allow pins that explicitly encourage self-harm or self-abuse.
          We released simpler tools for anyone to report alleged copyright or trademark infringements.
          Finally, we added language that will pave the way for new features such as a Pinterest API and Private Pinboards.
          We think these changes are important and we encourage you to review the new documents here. These terms will go into effect for all users on April 6, 2012.

          Like everything at Pinterest, these updates are a work in progress that we will continue to improve upon. We’re working hard to make Pinterest the best place for you to find inspiration from people who share your interest. We’ve gotten a lot of help from our community as we’ve crafted these Terms.

          Thanks!

          Ben & the Pinterest Team

          If you cannot see HTML email, you can view this email on the official Pinterest blog.

          This message was sent to bratcakess@gmail.com. Change your email preferences.
          If you do not want to receive emails from Pinterest in the future, please unsubscribe.

          ยฉ2011 Cold Brew Labs, Inc. ยท 635 High Street ยท Palo Alto, CA 94301 | All Rights Reserved
          Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

  2. Hi Ginger–like you, I have signed up for many online social media sites…and am now considering making a spreadsheet in order to keep track of everything! What does that say? Honestly, I could spend all day on the computer now just keeping up to date on the sites I follow/belong to…Obviously I don’t know when I’m into too much!

    1. It’s overwhelming isn’t it? I contemplated deleting most of my accounts after I wrote that post yesterday, but each time I thought that I said “but I need that account for…” or “I love that site because…”

      I think I just need to step away form the computer. Yeah, right. I tried to follow through with a pledge I took on FB – no electronics for 24 hours- but here I am, feening for content.

      A spreadsheet would be helpful but isn’t that just another peice of technology to take care of?
      ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Cheers!

  3. Hi, I know what you are going through in keeping track of social media. I only use a couple of platforms, mostly for sanity and content. If your looking for a way to enter contents on these sites without going to all these platforms. May I suggest you use Hootsuite. This app is available through WordPress. It allows you to post content to different sites easily. It’s free of charge ( for businesses it starts at about $6US/month ) and you can choose 5 sites to post content on. Oh, forgot to tell you that businesses get 30 day trial. I will be using this when I’m happy with my blog site. Hope this helps you.

    1. Hi Christopher,
      I just checked out Hootsuite’s site and it looks like it might be a good fit. Thank you for the suggestion, I’m going to look into it more!

      Cheers!

  4. I feel like I’m on overload and have signed up with less than you have! There’s just not enough time in the day! But I do like the idea of having them all tied in together. Maybe I should check that out I just one more to learn!

    1. I think Hootsuite might be the best option for what it seems we are both trying to accomplish. The Posterous is great for sending out the same information to multiple places, but in reality, it is just another blog. I came to the conclusion yesterday that I keep trying all of these new outlets because I’m unsatisfied with the appearance and limitations of my blog.

      If I was satisfied, I wouldn’t be looking elsewhere right? It’s not that I don’t like WP, believe me, I love it. I’m just ready to take my blog to the next level and I am not sure how to do that. I’ve been concidering moving over to .org but I don’t want to get over my head. I suppose I should work on my writing in the mean time ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. I am on facebook, twitter pinterest and WP and already over loaded. I know exactly what you mean about taking the blog to the next level. I think going to .org is the answer but I am scared I would get caught up in the technical stuff. Still I am seriously considering it

        1. I am scared also, I am pretty savy when it comes to the computer but I do admit I am overwhelmed when looking at the plugin’s. I am really lucky to have a close friend who builds websites and I convinced him to send me a basic page that I will be able to build on. I just hope he follows through ๐Ÿ™‚ I need a more creative project and I think this might be perfect, I just hope I won’t get in way over my head.
          Please keep me up to date with your progress, and I will do the same. Maybe we can lean on each other ๐Ÿ˜‰

        1. Probably posterous, polyvore and blogger! Those are the ones I really don’t use. It still leaves me a lot, but maybe I will cut back again in a month, once I see what else I rarely use ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

