Road Test: Dr. Scholl’s Arthritis Pain Relief Shoe Inserts

Here we go, I’m tweeking my list again…

Originally I was going to test out an anti-aging cream and write a review as a part of my list. I did try one out that I received as a sample from Sephora, but I wasn’t too impressed and I don’t want to spend a ton of money trying different products I still might not be impressed with.

That stuff is quite pricy.

So, instead of writing a negative review on something that I really didn’t use long enough to know the real results are, I decided to review something I do know about.

As you probably know by now, I have Fibromyalgia, a syndrome that creates chronic widespread body pain, along a couple dozen other symptoms. As I am just really learning about this disease and how to cope with it I am trying to find solutions to get me through my everyday that will reduce my discomfort. That being said, the last time I was picking up my prescriptions at my CVS I wandered into the foot care isle somehow and found a product by Dr. Scholl’s claiming it helps arthritis sufferers by relieving some of the pain in their knees, feet and hips.

I'm still cool

Like all other Fibromites out there, I sure do know about all the pains in my knees, feet and hips and any type of relief would be welcome.

I decided to give them a go.

It was a bit risky because they cost $16.00 which isn’t all that much money but it is a lot of money if they ended up being worthless. There is nothing worse than wasting money, am I right? In the past though (when I worked on my feet for 10 hour shifts) I used another one of the Dr. Scholl’s inserts and they really did make the long shifts easier so I knew the product had potential.

I decided to test them out on 2 pairs of shoes on 2 different days.

The first pair were the flats I was wearing that day.

First test

The insoles slipped right into my shoes and once my feet were in I immediately felt a difference. I wore them around the house for about an hour and was pretty satisfied with my investment.

My knees did not feel achy at all, my hips felt less achy and I didn’t notice much about my feet except that the back of the shoe was now rubbing on the back of my foot. This was uncomfortable  (caused by the thickness of the pad raising my heel) and I didn’t want to get a blister so I took them off. 

When I wear them in the flats again I will put a band-aid on my heel because I really do love my flats and the insert was not noticeable at all.

My second test was the winner.

I decided that I would try them out in a pair of my Chucks. I love these classic shoes, but they are completely flat and my legs get super stiff when I wear them these days so they don’t get much use.

Test Two

I had to take Isaac to look for some back to school shoes and I didn’t whimp out or get grumpy from the pain once.

We did a lot of walking.

The most walking I've done in a LONG time without wanting to cry!

My son is extremely into style and he was determined to find the best pair of shoes he could find. It sucked for him that the shoes he really wanted were $120.

Unfortunately, I’m serious.

He had a budget and was having a very hard time finding something in his given price range.  So back and forth we went; it took 6 store visits for him to finally feel satisfied with what he was getting. I got a bit tired, and rested on the benches in each store, but my pain was minimal.

It may have been because I was having a “good” day but I’m convinced it was a combination of both and maybe, just maybe the inserts were giving me the “good” day!

Once we got home, I kept my shoes on for the rest of the day and up until bedtime. Normally, I switch my shoes back and forth about 8 times a day because they get so uncomfortable or I am in so much pain.

All together I had the shoes on for close to 11 hours. Unheard of!!

These inserts are impressive and I highly recommend that you give them a try if you are suffering from Fibromyalgia or Arthritis. Wearing them to “run” errands may actually be somewhat bearable for you, as it finally was for me. 

 Have you tried these Dr. Scholl’s Arthritis Pain Relief Shoe Inserts, and if so, what has your experience been? Would you recommend any other products that make daily living easier and less painful?

23 thoughts on “Road Test: Dr. Scholl’s Arthritis Pain Relief Shoe Inserts

  1. I am definitely going to look for a pair of them the next time I go shopping…I’m always looking for something to ease the pain I have in my knees, hips and feet…so far not much works, except for a pair of sandals that I bought in St. Thomas–I LOVE THEM! They are Teva sandals, rather sporty looking but the only thing I can wear for several hours at a time without crying from pain. I like them so much that I bought another pair from LL Bean after I returned home. This way I have a ‘good’ pair that I can wear in the house if my original ones are muddy or something from wearing them outside or on the beach. But fall/winter is coming soon so it would be great if I could find something that will fit into shoes or runners that will help me.
    I’ll let you know if I can get them here in Canada and if they help me.
    Thanks for the great tip!

    1. You are welcome 🙂 I should look for those shoes as well! Thanks for that tip. I for some reason you can’t find the inserts let me know, I’m sure we could figure out a way to get you a pair 🙂 have a great weekend!

  2. Those Reebok “runtone” and “easytone” shoes are great for impact absorbtion. Fitflops are my favorite for when I’m going to be standing for a while.
    I’m actually going to write a post about fibro survival tools next. 🙂

    1. Now I had heard they are dangerous because of balance issues? I was thinking they might be good but read that and abandon the idea. Maybe I will try a pair on and see if they make me wobbly? It’s worth a shot, that’s for sure! I can’t wait to read your tip post, I’m really looking forward to it! Yay!

  3. Yeah!!! I’m so happy your $16 investment was not a bomb!! I hate when that happens! On a side skin care note, I use Arbonne for all my anti aging products! They are only sold online and may seem pricey but they really work! Also, they are chemical and toxic free, which you should be careful choosing products that don’t add any more toxins to your body! After all your skin is your largest organ!

    1. Sounds fantastic! Thanks for the recommendation Linda! It will save me a lot of wasted money 🙂 I’m going to ask for that brand for Christmas, woo hoo!

    1. Actually, I do, and it is very good! It loosens me up and gives me a good stretch! It’s great for the mind too. Thanks for the suggestion, I’m sure it will be new info to someone 🙂

  4. Glad you found something that works for you! I have plantar faschi…fash…fuh…whatever it is that makes the bottom of your feet hurt that I can’t spell. Anyway, my PA husband makes me:
    1) roll my feet over a golf ball
    2) use my toes to pretend-write the alphabet (strengthens your calves, too)
    3) watch British comedies, but I don’t think that’s a related task.

    Perhaps you could roll your whole body over a giant, squishy, strawberry-scented golf ball while using your head to write an imaginary sonnet just before you watch Monty Python. You never know. Could cure you. Then you could call me a “bloody do-gooder” and we’d both be happy. 😉

    Seriously, though, it makes me happy that you were able to find some relief and for under 20 bucks, too. 🙂 I send you hugs!

  5. OK, so now I need to add this to my list of things to try, along with some of these other suggestions by other posters. I’m so glad that these helped and were not a waste of money. I hate buying things and then not being able to use them.

    Dr. Scholl’s also makes a product called rub strips, and they really do work. http://www.drscholls.com/drscholls/productSearch.do?method=doProductDetailsLookup&searchArg=69 Shoes that I used to not wear because they rubbed me somewhere on my poor feet are seeing new life with this prodict.

    Thanks for the info.

  6. Hey Ginger–just wanted to let you know that I did find a pair of Dr. Scholl’s Arthritis Pain Relief Orthotics at one of our local Wal Marts…but it’s funny–the package in Canada doesn’t mention Hip relief–just knee and foot…and the little picture of the leg on the package only has the two red hot-looking circles on it (foot and knee), instead of the three on yours. Other than that and our packaging being in both english and french they look exactly the same…I bought them yesterday for only 13.99 plus taxes but haven’t had a chance to try them yet. Will let you know my opinion of them once I do.

  7. Thank you so much for posting this review! I am going to buy a pair today!

    Also, I love your blog! You write very well, and your presentation (photos, maps, etc.) is fantastic! I’m even a little jealous! 😉

    1. Thank you but really you shouldn’t say that, you have a wonderful blog that I really enjoy reading! I feel like my writing has suffered so much in the past few months but I do hope to snap out of it. Please let me know how they work out for you!

  8. Glad you found something, pain in your foot must be very very annoying, I believe. I couldn’t use one of my feet for 4 weeks and I believe you must have been drawn down by not being able to walk right for the past months! Good for you and thanks for sharing, I am sure your blog is helping others with fibromyalgia. By the way, have you opened up a second blog??

  9. I have used these for a few days. They are good. I have noticed a decrease in the pain in my hips and maybe my knees too.

    1. I am glad they are helping you! They still work well for me, especially when I need to be on my feet for a while. Thanks for commenting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

