Update on the Kitchen Update

The window frames in my kitchen have been repainted for some time now, so I figured it’s about time to get them crossed off my list. They finally match the cabinets, beadboard backsplash and door. I still need to do the door frame and the inside of one of the upper cabinets, but the kitchen is almost, almost finally, for real,Β done.

I have a feeling it will be snowing somewhere when I can officially say, “I’M DONE!” No worries, as long as I get there, I’m in no real rush.

Aside from repainting the frames and sills, I also hung up new window mistreatments. The other ones I made were better in the sence that they were fuller, but these rock for the color. I’m not 100% happy with them, as I said, they could be fuller and set on a different part of the frame, but they’ll do just fine. Overall I am really happy with how it is looking now, especially compared to before.

So here is a picture of what the dark and dingy kitchen looked like at the beginning of the year…

And here is what she looks like today…

Sorry I didn’t clean up for the picture, but hey, that’s life. Besides, I get a lot of Google hits for “dirty dishes.” Best to not upset the Google Gods or the people who like to look at dirty dishes.

When I finally do finish the inside of the last cabinet and repaint the door frame I will take you through a mini tour of all the before and after photosΒ and a quick how-to on updating your kitchen with a super tiny budget. If you have a good energy level I think you could get it all done in 2 weekends, all without any help.

Also, I’ll make sure there are no dirty dishes in my sink or miscellaneous wires hanging around when I write that post πŸ˜‰

16 thoughts on “Update on the Kitchen Update

  1. wow.. like night and day, literally! I bet a big smile comes to your face walking into this brighter kitchen. I laugh at your window “mistreatment”! I think you’re alot better at it than you give yourself credit!! Now, go do your dishes!

  2. I love redecorating… I could watch it all day!

    But the practicalities, the labor, the paint fumes, the lack of cold hard CASH!!!
    Those? Not so much. And yet, I persevere and have been making progress here. We started painting three years ago when we first moved in, and then it seemed we were thwarted at every turn. Now, this month, I am finishing bit by bit what we began and I am so excited to see how it all looks.

    Your kitchen looks terrific, and no matter how long it takes you, the end result is well worth your effort is it not? Don’t care about the dishes and the hanging wires, because the work you have accomplished and the progress you have made are what matters.

    Lynda
    “:

    1. Little projects, usually do turn into big projects, and not normally by choice! I love painting, it is one of the most relaxing things I can do. I don’t know why, most people hate it. I do hope you will post pictures and share your handy work πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the compliment, I do feel great after getting things done!

  3. Been there, done that, got the T-shirt, blisters and ruined clothes (paint splashes, I’m sloppy). Looks good, love the sign ‘Will eat for food’. Job well done.

    1. The sign is funny right? I have to read it to myself often, just to see if it really makes sence. It makes me laugh everytime. I don’t bother with special paint clothes any more cause I’m pretty good at being neat, but I have learned not to wear “good” clothes because I have the tendency to lean on wet paint instead of splattering it on myself πŸ™‚

      Thanks for reading and for commenting, its nice to meet you πŸ™‚

  4. Does that say ‘will eat for food?’ up the top? Too funny! It’s a huge improvement, well done!! I like the lighter hangings especially, they really lift the the colour in the rooom instead of taking away from it.

    1. Sometimes when I am reading from my phone I can’t see them either. Sooo annoying. Maybe it has to do with the size of the picture or your web browser? I never figured it out, sometimes it happens, sometimes it doesn’t. grr

  5. i just love your black touches with all the white! so clean & fresh! gaahhh… i could watch hgtv and plan to decorate & redecorate my apartment (or my dream homes) all day long! thanks for the inspiration!!

    1. Thanks! When I put the faucet in I thought there was too much black but have come to love it. I can’t believe how much of a difference such small changes can make, in appearance and self-esteem πŸ™‚ I love HGTV also!

Leave a Reply

