I wish I would Have Read This Book 13 Years Ago

My son is now 4 hours late past his curfew. Sadly, that is the least of my worries with him. He’s out of control, I won’t lie.

I don’t know what I am going to do and I sure do wish I would have read this book 13 years ago.

Yeah, it’s controversal, but Amy ChuaΒ is really not so bad. In fact, I think she’s swell.

Hate me if you want, but if I read this book and took it for all it was worth 13 years ago, Isaac would be practicing on the soccer field right now. Not playing man hunt at the rec. Or whatever is keeping him from being home when he was told.

No big deal, right? Mom’s gonna be mad, oh, well.

He thinks he has it all figured out. I’m glad one of us does.

All I know is he won’t be leaving this house again until next week. Smart boy that he is.

16 thoughts on “I wish I would Have Read This Book 13 Years Ago

  1. I should send you a picture of my nephew T. Maybe it would make you feel a little bit better. πŸ˜›
    Or not. He sent me an invitation to be his “friend” on Facebook today. I took one look and was afraid to reply…
    You are not alone in these trials. I know that is not comforting. Do you have the opportunity for family counseling? With the separation, your health, and the general teenage hormones raging right now, I am sure it must be difficult for you. Think about the counseling as it could really give you some tools for dealing with all of this in a constructive way.
    Sending prayers for you and your family.
    XO
    Lynda

  2. Lynda, you are right on the mark. We actually start in September. I have been on a waiting list because of the cost factor, but I know it will probably do some good, if not a lot. I still see him as this little boy and he’s at the age where he sees himself as anything but. Especially with his dad not here. He tries to act just like him a lot of the time. That’s a big part of the problem, too. It really doesn’t help being in this condition either. He knows I’m weak ans uses it to his advantage. I think that’s fairly normal for kids though.
    Thank you for being so kind I’m trying so hard to get him under control, it’s not a good thing, but it makes me feel a bit better that I’m not the only one with a boy like this.

  3. I don’t have any kids but if I did I would read that book. The parts I have seen make sense and I think are good ideals for children. I would be a proud tiger mom.

  4. Ginger–my thoughts are with you as you struggle through the teenage years with your children. My kids are grown now and I know that I was one of the ‘lucky’ parents…the one whose kids didn’t challenge them too much or break curfews or get involved with drugs, etc….but I do have friends whose kids DID challenge them to the breaking point, and these kids have evolved into contributing-to-society, well-adjusted (for the most part), members of the next generation. Hang in there…be strong and let him know you’re still in control…he probably needs to know that.
    As an aside…one night when my kids were teenagers they were arguing and I was tired and had had enough, so I said, “If you two don’t stop fighting I’ll ground you for…” and then I couldn’t figure out what would be an appropriate punishment because I had never grounded them before….so I finished off with, “days and days…” Well, my two kids burst out laughing and I burst out laughing and the spat was over….never did ground them but their friends all thought it was hilarious and brought it to my attention many times over the next number of years! In fact, it is still a topic of conversation when we get together with their friends…I always believed that humor can help get people through the most trying times, although I realize it can be difficult at times to find humor in our everyday lives.
    Keep writing about this, Ginger…it may not help your son but it could help you…and your readers love to read about it!

    1. Wow, you are a much nicer mom than me! I always said I wouldn’t punish my kids a lot because I was always punished, but I see that I do. I think it’s because for years everyone said I was too lenient and that I was fully of empty threats. Ughhh. Being a parent is definitely the hardest job in the world. I will need to remember to laugh with them though, we somehow lost that fun bond we always had since everything happened.

      I think it might be a good time to pull Dacias prank. Maybe it will break this mean mom/ rebel son barrier. Maybe not, but you are right. Everyone needs a good laugh.
      Ps congrats again on being Freshly pressed again! I think it is just fantastic and it was surely well deserved πŸ™‚ I’m very proud of you πŸ™‚

  5. It is a great book. I wanted to hate it but she made me love her. I am trying to implement what I can now but it’s not working so well, they are 1/2 way grown and are just hating me and rebelling. He walked in as soon as I posted it. At his normal curfew at least. Still not good he didn’t pay attention but it’s better than blatant disregard.

  6. What book is it? [I can’t see pics today / don’t know the author!?
    ANyway enjoyed the post, although I’m sure you’re son will not be thankful…

    1. No, they are 14 months apart, but it would have done them both good if I were as strict as she was! Natalie’s birthday is today actually, I’m officially a parent of a teenager. Yikes, I really feel old.

      1. But 13 is so young! lol
        I remember when I was 13, it was a fun age, a lot about boys, friends, and rebelling against the parents. Not saying this is going to happen in every household. 13 was fun, I hope your daughter sees it the same way!

  7. Listen Ginger..don’t deal with him with the mentality that you are week and that the fact his dad is mot around makes things difficult for you…You are strong and have a lot of things under your control..My mum used to say that every person has a key..you just need to find it..grounding him is not the key to get him to listen..you need to find the key to make him listen..I know my daughter is still very small but if I use force of threats with her she NEVER listens..things turn from bad to worse…on the other hand if I use emotions she becomes as soft and pliable as dough (excuse the food pun) ..
    My point is find the things that matter to him and use them

  8. as an ex teenager, I bet he doesn’t realise how much it hurts you (or if he knows maybe it doesn’t register). May be it would work as ‘this is why you should do this’ not ‘do this’. Having said that I was probably the least teenagery teenager ever.

    please tell me to just stop talking but I guess in the same way your life has changed recently, so has Isaac’s. You have the benefit of 20 more years of life to teach you how to react.

    When I was about his age, my mum got ill and she couldn’t do things that she could before. I got so angry because in some ways I felt like she was doing it just to annoy me. of course she wasn’t, and i knew she wasn’t, but that’s how it felt (and i probably couldnt have even explained it at the time). I think as well you have to be a certain age before you can get the concept that you are not the centre of the universe,

    Still. it must be very frustrating for you!

Leave a Reply

