Fibro-Friendly Bacon and Asparagus Quiche – Great for Days When You’re Fatigued or Hurting Bad

Before I get started with a really yummy, super easy,  fatigue friendly and pain free recipe, I just want to say that I am offically crossing off the list “be kind to a stranger.”

I’ve been told by 3 three people now that I am worthy of crossing it off, so I figure it is about dang time!

Yay!

Thanks Toffee, Holly and Charlotte! You girls have all made me very happy 😀

Also on my list, I had written “make a pie from scratch.” I originally pictured myself making a banana cream pie and I would still like to but who knows if I will get around to it. I need to cross things off when I get the chance.  That being said, I made a quiche from scratch a few weeks ago and since it has a crust I concider it a pie.

Loophole!!

While the homemade crust was okay, it really hurt my arms to cut up the butter and flour to form the dough and it totally wasn’t worth the pain. Since I did like the recipe (in general) I’ve altered it quite a bit to fit my low calorie wants, my easiness desire and the need for a pain free dinner.

This recipe is great to make on days when you are too exhausted to stand in the kitchen for 30 minutes or if your in the midst of a train wrecked body day.

If you have energy and strength just remove all of the breaks I’ve added in.

To make this a complete meal throw a quick salad together (either from a bag or step by step taking breaks) and chill it in the fridge until the quiche is done baking. At the end of the day you will be left with a quick, easy  and balanced meal that everyone will be happy to eat. The best part is that if you are feeling terrible you will be proud of yourself for accomplishing at least something on one of your worst days!

Ingredients:

1 pound asparagus, trimed and cut into 1/2 inch pieces (check your grocers freezer – they might have it – no cutting!)

10 slices reduced sodium bacon or turkey bacon

1 (9 inch) ready made (refriderated unbaked) pie crust

3 egg whites, slightly beaten

1 egg

1 cup fat-free half & half

nutmeg, salt and pepper to taste

1 bag (about 1 & 1/4 cups) pre-shredded swiss cheese

Method:

Preheat oven 400° (or wait to do this when you are ready to assemble the pie)

Place asparagus in a double broiler and steam for about 2-6 minutes, it should be tender but still firm. Alternatly, follow directions on frozen veggie package.

Drain and set aside.

Take a break as long as you need (it could be hours, that’s fine, just cover it) OR continue to next step.

Cook bacon in a large skillet until evenly brown, drain on paper towels and set aside.

Take a break as long as you need (it could be hours, that’s fine, just cover it) OR continue to next step.

If you haven’t pre-heated oven yet, now it is time.

Place pie crust into 9 inch pie dish and if you have the energy try to make the edges look pretty, if you don’t just make sure its in the dish evenly and no crust is over hanging.

Crumble the bacon and spread it into the dish evenly, then layer on the asparagus, and cheese.

Brush the edges of the crust with some of the egg whites then add to the whites the remaining egg, half and half, nutmeg salt and pepper and mix.

Pour egg mixture on top of cheese.

Place foil just around the edges and bake for 25 minutes. Remove the foil (or ask someone to do it for you) and let it bake another 15 minutes.

Bring to room tempature and mangia!

16 thoughts on “Fibro-Friendly Bacon and Asparagus Quiche – Great for Days When You’re Fatigued or Hurting Bad

  1. This does look delicious and Bob LOVES asparagus! Can’t wait to try it! Hmmm… I think this week as my chickens have been going into overtime on the egg laying and I need to cook some or toss them. Wish we lived closer I would give you all you wanted! ~ Lynda

  2. Wow looks amazing… Very impressed by the effort given your not just buying all pre made. And keep ticking those list items you completely deserve too

    1. Thanks Holly, I love homemade and always scoffed at premade things. I’m just going to have to suck it up and accept that shortcuts are going to have to be okay in my book if I want to get some of the same things done 🙂 I’m just happy to get them done!

  3. Even for those of us without fibro- this is inspiring- I’m going to make this today for our houseguests! I am often tired and just don’t feel like cooking, but you’ve made it fun, easy, and fast, with breaks added in- too fun!!! And, it’s healthy! Unbelieveable- you never cease to amaze me, Ginger!

    1. Heck yeah! This is really great for anyone who just wants to take the breaks to get other things done, either in the home, or out! I hope you do make it and everyone enjoys it!

    1. Everyone is entitled to be tired and lazy some days.

      I will say though that I am glad all of my “lazyness” through the past few years was probably really fatigue. I say this only because I was really beating myself up in the begining thinking about how much time I had wasted in my life and regretting I didn’t take advantage. There were so many days recently that I just couldn’t move and spent hours thinking to the past when I’d say “I don’t FEEL like doing… I’m going to stay here.”

      Looking back though, I really believe the Fibro has been settling in my system for quite some time. That last jolt just finally threw me into a full throttled flare and settled at the surface.

      I am doing my best to accept now that the past is the past. I can’t dwell on it, regardless if I was being lazy or just fatigued. My life has completely changed and the healthy thing to do is embrace my life and who I am, today and in the future.

  4. Looks delicious, Ginger! I have started making ‘crustless Quiche’….exactly the same thing as quiche–use whatever veggies in your refrigerator, and bacon or ham, and bake the thing in the oven until set…no crust so fewer calories, and it tastes great. Made it for company a couple of weeks ago and it was a big hit!
    Glad to see you’re posting more and settling in to your new way of life. Keep at it, girl!

Leave a Reply

