A Little Inspiration From a Lovely Friend Goes a Long Way

This morning when I woke up I was surprised to find a wonderful and completely inspiring note from my darling of a friend, Holly of My Blogject. From the day I “met” her it was an instant friendship and connection. If you haven’t had a chance to get to know this lovely girl I strongly urge you to do so. Holly, who lives a hectic and adventurous life, is full of happiness and straight forward honesty. If you appreciate real writers as much as I do, you will certainly be charmed by this fun girl.

I have felt sorry for myself a lot lately because of my health and found myself spending too much time worrying that I wasn’t going to carry out many more of the items on my list of 365. Sweet Holly kindly took the time to check my list again and point out some items that I can still do and offered me so much encouragement that it couldn’t even be bottled. She also made me realize that I had already done a handful of items but hadn’t written about them yet. She gave me a fresh determination to move forward, to move out of this funk that I’ve dwelt in.

I am so grateful for her taking the time, out of the kindness in her heart, to help this depressed girl out and to fill me up with some much-needed and lost inspiration and gently point me towards the light.

I am not giving up.

With that being said, I am crossing off an item from the list but tweaking it to my new lifestyle and marital status. It’s my list and since it is similar in nature, I have no problem feeling happy about writing this one off.

Huz used to buy me flowers quite often, just to be a nice guy and show me love. I thought it would be a great idea to make a “Huz Luv” vase to place these tokens of love in but life has changed for us and we are separated now. I don’t see any surprise flowers in my future and realized  a while ago that was one of the first items I would not be crossing off.

One day, however, I was at the market buying vegetables and saw some beautiful flowers that I couldn’t resist. I bought two bunches for myself and arranged them in a vase. For the two weeks they sat on my mantle I felt joy each time I looked at them. No they didn’t come from Huz, but they were a present from ME.

Self love is the BEST love after all! Is it not?

I am not making a “self luv” vase, per say, but I am dedicating all of my vases to that purpose and each time I buy flowers to put in them I will be reminded of these hard times I am going through and how I am a survivor who loves herself too much to give up.

Thanks again Holly, you completely made my day with your encouragement and filled me with the mojo to keep this list going.

And as a tip to anyone who might be feeling down, defeated, exhausted or lost… a little pick-me up of flowers can do wonders for the soul, no matter if they are a self-imposed gift or not.

What other ways can you cheer yourself up when you are in desperate need of cheer?

16 thoughts on “A Little Inspiration From a Lovely Friend Goes a Long Way

  1. I just discovered your blog, and I must admit that I’ve only read this entry and your ‘about me’ so far but I’m intrigued and already, you have motivated me. I’m at a strange, transitionary point in life and occasionally, it gets a little too much. Reading this reminded me that I also love myself too much to give up, so thank you so much. Stay strong, you’re amazing.

    1. Thank you for stopping by and commenting! Change can be very hard and downright scary, especially when you aren’t the one navigating the changes! It’s so easy to fall into depression and give up, and I certainly still have my days that I catch myself doing just that. It is much more rewarding though to keep your chin up and love yourself. Think positive, be positive. Do something nice for yourself, it is you, ultimately, who you have to please. It great to meet you and thanks again for your kind comment 🙂

  2. Hold onto this feeling. It is very healing and freeing! A good day is a precious thing… Is it not?
    Happy for you,
    Lynda

  3. Ginger, I, too, have been a recipient of Holly’s positive energy, and I thank you for taking the time to recognize her. You and Holly both started reading my blog around the same time, and you both are my first “blog world” friends/readers (i.e. not already known family & friends). Well, at least you are the only ones who have left comments. But, somehow, my blog has now been read by more & more people now, and I have found so much more confidence in my writing and posting. So, thank you (and thanks to Holly too). And just know, that you are in my thoughts these days. ~ Liz

    1. Thank you for your kind words, Liz! You are a wonderful writer and photographer, I am so glad that more and more people are enjoying your work as much as I do! Cheers!

  4. Ginger, I’m glad you took the comment on your list exactly as I intended, I didn’t think I was getting it across quite right, but seemingly you completely understood my tone, which I’m so pleased about – you clearly ‘get’ me!!
    GLad to see the gorgeous flowers and vase, flowers to self are the most satisfying I find, as they are a complete treat and self chosen! [Also, may I say your mantlepiece in general is rather gorgeous!! Living in a flat it’s something I miss not having]
    Enjoy the list going forward, and it’s great to know how positive you’re continuing despite what I realise is a very tough time. Keep it up lovely!

    1. Oh, it certainly did come across right! Thank you so much for that kind little nudge. Sometimes when you stare at something so long you tend to lose the focus, and you somehow knew that is what I was doing! I sure do get you girl 🙂
      Thanks for always believing me, your faith is priceless!

  5. So sweet of Holly,
    She is a wonderful person and I am truly glad she helped you feel better
    I buy myself flowers too, I have decided a long time ago that I don’t want to wait for anyone to make me happy
    If I love flowers I will buy them for myself and like you said..they make you smile each time you look at them..
    When I’m depressed I watch a movie..not any movie though..it is either Mulan or beauty and the beast and I sing along and the whole nine yards lol
    it helps

    1. I actually just read that watching Disney movies are a wonderful way to destress! You are on to something, for sure and I can definetly see how the singing along would be an instant pick-me up, too! I’ll have to remember this tip!
      I love that you said you don’t wait for anyone to make you happy. That is priceless, all women (and men, ahhem) should take on that train of thought, there would be far less disappointed people walking around!

  6. I’ve ‘met’ Holly and now it’s lovely to meet you. I must say, that I think buying yourself flowers and also taking yourself out on ‘dates’ (one of my fav things to do ever) are both wonderfully positive things. And your flowers look lovely.

    1. Hi Aimee, thanks for reading and commenting, it’s nice to meet you, too! Holly is a great girl and any friend of hers is a friend of mine 😉 I should take myself out on a date! That sounds like a fantastic idea – no pressure! LOL Thanks for the tip!

  7. I’m so glad you took Holly’s advice and loved your bold font on Not Giving Up! I keep a list on little things to pamper and cheer myself so whenever I’m feeling the need I check my list! I’ve found that I need a variety of ideas as when a pedicure works one time, it sounds irritating to me the next time!

    1. Oooh, a list is a great idea! I should put one together because I see what you mean about certain things working on certain days! Thanks for the advice 🙂

Leave a Reply

