Creamy (is an Understatement) Ameretto Cheesecake with Drunken Nectatrines

Well, I finally did it! After years of dreading and putting off making my very first cheesecake, I finally got ‘er done.

I wanted to bake something special (it was special alright) for a diner my sister was hosting for Father’s Day and decided there was no time better to cross this long avoided task off of my list.

I asked my Mom if my Dad liked cheesecake and she said, “yes, with fruit on top.”

I really wanted to use a recipe in my BakeWise cookbook, as everything from there usually turns out deliciously. Disapointingly, there were only two cheesecakes to choose from, either of which had fruit. No matter, I did some research and settled on the Creamy Ameretto Cheesecake and decided to make a complimenting Ameretto Nectarine fruit topping.

I had all of my ingredients and breezed along the recipe taking beautiful pictures along the way. Here are a few of my favorites…

I had a feeling this was going to be the best cheesecake that my family ever tasted.

Oh, how they’d sing my praises!

Yeah, well it tasted good, but it certianly didn’t resemble a cheesecake. At. All.

Looking back, I can see that I clearly had a few things working against me, here.

    • The first, and most crucial, was that the cheesecake didn’t bake long enough. DOH!
    • The second, instead of waiting for the (underbaked) cake to fully cool before adding my topping, I dumped it on right away which made this already-not-going-to-set-correctly-cake a little bit lot more liquidy then it should have been.
    • Third, I didn’t think it would be a big deal to drive to the next state over with a keep refriderated cake in a car that has no air conditioning on a 84° day.

Yeah, after about 20 minutes of driving, half of the cake fell apart.

I didn’t get mad either, nope, I just shook my head and laughed at myself. God, I love these pills!

Anyway, after I got to my sisters, the disaster was put in the fridge and cooled for a few hours.

My poor sweet family said they still wanted to try it and agreed that it tasted fantastic but indeed needed to be baked longer.

Of course, no one wanted to take any of my soupy creation home, and I still remained hopeful that I could do something to make it some kind of normal looking dessert, so I trecked it back home.

In the heat.

When I finally got back to the house I transeferred the slop cheesecake remains into a bowl and stuck it in the fridge.

It’s still there, awaiting it’s fate of meeting my fancy new trash can.

I haven’t given up on cheesecakes, yet, no way! I will figure it out someday, but for right now I’m crossing it off my list because I never said it had to be a really good one. When I do revisit this recipe and make a surviver I’ll share it with you, because like I said, it tasted really good, just didn’t turn out right!

29 thoughts on “Creamy (is an Understatement) Ameretto Cheesecake with Drunken Nectatrines

    1. Yeah, I was a bit upset, but I was totally expecting it to be a disaster deep down- maybe that’s why it turned out so bad. I’ll get it right the next time 🙂 thanks for hinting that you’ve had disasters too, it seems hard to believe!

  1. Oooh, I feel your pain. Right after my parents got divorced I BEGGED my Aunt to let me make the cherry pie for Thanksgiving dinner. Lattice crust, it looked so wonderful… after dinner everyone dug in! It was pronounce delicious and then we all noticed that everyone had PINK teeth. :((( Guess I doubled the red food coloring…
    Lynda

    1. Oh that is hilarious! I bet you still get a big chuckle thinking about that! I’m sorry it didn’t turn out perfect, but I bet the next one did! 🙂

  2. Oh, you poor thing–but at least you tried and that still counts, so cross that sucker off your list! And I’m sure it tasted great–you should have just called it a cream-cheese pudding and no one would have been the wiser!
    But you do make me laugh. Thanks for that.

    1. Thanks for saying I make you laugh, I laugh at myself too! As long as I learn from mistakes and don’t make them over and over they are definetly laughable! In the condition it ended up in, I should have told them it was a new dessert… Cheesecake Soup!

  3. 1 million points for trying!!! It sounds delicious. And I would have taken some home 🙂 I am impressed you did not get upset, I sure would have. I hope you had a great time with your family.

    1. You are so sweet 🙂 I surprised myself by not crying! Lol I am becoming one cold hearted b word! Haha just kidding, but I am surprised with the lack of anger and tears!

  4. I loooove cheesecake!!!!
    The pics you took while you were preparing are fabulous! Impressive. I’ll bet it still tasted delish!

  5. Aw 😦 I’m sure it tasted delicious though! One of the most important things about making cheesecake is making sure it has had enough time to cool in the fridge (usually at least 4 hours)! You should try making mini cheesecakes, they’re quicker and easier than the larger ones! I made some a while ago and they turned out fantastic!
    (Here it is if you’d like to check it out: http://missanthropistskitchen.wordpress.com/2010/12/22/mini-cheesecake-galore/)

    1. Thanks for the link, I think I will make mini-ones next time I give it a go! I loved your cobbler recipe so I’m sure I will love these too, and I’ll be really happy if they turn out unsoupy lol!

  6. My theory about disasters in the kitchen that look horrible but still taste good: it’s the perfect excuse to eat the whole thing and not share with anyone. 🙂

  7. I don’t know what’s going on but I subscribed to your blog last week and I am just not receiving E-mails on your newest posts…. 😦 Have you had this problem with other users before?

    1. Hi Laura, it looks like you subscribed thru wordpress subscriptions not by email. To access the wordpress subscriptions go to the front page of wordpress (where the freshly pressed posts are) and click on the subscriptions tab, right above all of the freshly pressed posts. If you want to subscribe via email, on my page right under or below the picture of the drawn girl there is a button that says subscribe to this site by email, just click that and follow any instructions. 🙂 let me know if you have any questions or if that doesn’t fix the issue! Thanks for subscribing 🙂

  8. it’s like the cheesecake version of Eton Mess (i’m not sure if you guys have that – but imagine a meringue that has been all decorated with cream and fruit, now break it up and stick it in a bowl), so yeah Cheesecake Eton Mess. Maybe it’ll catch on?

    at the very least it’s a valiant attempt!

    1. Oh I like that idea! Kinda like a “I made this sloppy on purpose, I didn’t screw up on accident!” lovely, thanks for the tip, it’s a great one! 🙂

  9. You know something, the remains in your fridge still look damn tasty.
    Pour it in a bowl and I’m sure it’ll be perfect!
    Great effort though…
    I never make baked ones, this minuses any possible problems as you just rely on the fridge to do its business and harden it up!
    also, tip for the future of your cheesemaking fun, use ginger nut biscuits in the base – they are amazing!! (team it with lemon or white choc and you’ve got the best damn flavour combo around – sorry i’m getting carried away)…

    1. Oh yummy Holly, ginger 🙂 nut biscuits sound fantastic, I’m going to keep my eyes open for them! Oh and paired with lemon! Drool! Thanks for the tips 🙂

  10. Oh so sorry this happened..but it happens to all of us..I told you I am seriously considering starting a disaster category on my blog!
    You should only see the zucchini cake I made the other day!
    and what kills you is that the prep pictures look so beautiful but the final result is…uhhh
    I hope you had a great time and from my point of view this looks really tasty..I love the flavor combination in it

    1. I know! I think “fail” is one of my most used words! I think everything you make is probably absolutely fantastic, even if it doesn’t quite hit the mark for you. Thank you for keeping my spirits up 🙂

  11. I’ve had plenty of failures and I applaud you for posting yours! Cheesecakes are my favorite and this one sounds like it would really taste amazing! I like drunken anything on top of anything!! Is there a recipe for this or will it be posted when you try again?

    1. Oh I know you have a wonderful way with cheesecakes! I actually searched your tab, hoping to find my fruit topping for this. I saw you had an ameretto one, but no link. I really can’t believe how many you have made! I’m in awe!

      I will email you the recipes I used, I’m sure you will work magic with it and show the world how it’s really done. Who knows if I’ll ever get it right and it was really very tasty, it just needs someone better suited than me 🙂 I’ll send it to you in the next few days!

Leave a Reply

