This post is kinda all over the place and I can’t pull it all together in a short and witty title….

My Mom always had a wonderful way of making me feel very special on my birthday. She would throw large parties for me, provide me with extremely thoughtful gifts, make glorious Strawberry Shortcakes and always, always let me pick the diner.

Because tacos have always been my favorite food and we didn’t have them too often (my dad didn’t like them very much) I would always go for Mexican! Whether it was tacos at home or going out to eat I almost always picked tacos.

If we were going out to eat my favorite restaurant was Chi-Chi’s, it was the closest thing to “real” Mexican food that I knew of and I just loved it!

The best part was that after eating all of the chips and salsa and plates piled up with delicious food, the whole waiting staff would gather together and sing very loudly a festive happy birthday song while wearing sombreros and shaking maracas.  It was so much fun and left in front of me my very favorite treat in the world… Fried Ice Cream! Oh, the whole 2 hours were fantastic and my very favorite way to celebrate my birthday.

Chi-Chi’s has since closed down and since I can (and do) make Mexican food weekly, I no longer have the need to actively seek it out. This year when my Mom had asked if I wanted to go out to eat for my birthday I asked her if we could meet at Wegman’s. I had heard so many wonderful things about this “plush” supermarket, and have been wanting to meet her there for quite sometime.

I think she was pleased with my choice (finally, no Mexican!) and we agreed to all meet at the store, which is a half-way point between our homes.

My Dad and niece even came along and I had a wonderful time. After we ate our yummy lunches my Mom and I ventured into the supermarket. I wasn’t feeling very well and stated that I only wanted to head to the produce section to grab blackberries for a recipe I planned on making. I also had wanted to buy corn on the cob to make Rufus’ recipe for grilled corn, but that was not so fresh, so I passed on that for another time and continued to look around. All of the berries looked fresh and weren’t too expensive so I couldn’t resist buying not only blackberries, but raspberries and strawberries too.

From there we set out to find my Dad and niece who said they would meet us in the candy isle. This is when things changed from blackberries and corn to full fledged a romp (crippled strut lol) through pretty much the whole store. Milk was $2.55 a gallon, I needed it at that price! Then I remembered I really needed coffee, so I grabbed the kind I normally buy and decided to pick up a can of the Wegman’s brand that my Mom said her friend raves about… coffee under $3.00?  Why not? I also picked up new ramekins for the blackberry recipe and snatched up some toothpaste and hand soap which were only 80 cents.

I officially love this store!

Finally, we made our way to the candy isle and of course I saw the most tempting Gummy Bears and had to buy some of those, which the kids and I proceed to eat later in the evening!

After we checked out and my Dad and niece found us (I was we were taking forever) I hobbled we walked back out to the parking lot.

My Mom and Dad gave me a few very needed, much appriciated and happy to receive birthday gifts. My Mom knows me all too well, in fact so well that I can’t figure out if she stalked my list or just knew me that well.

She had gotten me 2 laundry hampers, yay! Off the list! Also, I received a Brita water pitcher (which I had been thinking about buying since Huz left,) a pack of filters for the water pitcher, and some other fun house things.

I am so excited for the water pitcher! I normally buy gallons of water which range from 85 cents and up to 1.99 a piece. This lovely little invention is going to save me between $212-$497 over the period of about 6 months! That’s a lot of dough! Yay Mommy!

Of course, I haven’t figured out how much I will be paying the water department, but that’s not important right now!

Okay, so I did a whole lot of talking about my birthday and the outing and my lovely gifts but what does that have to do with the photo at the top of the post? Well, nothing.

Just Kidding!

On Friday night I was doing what I do every night before bed… Blog Stalking and happened upon a new favorite Miss Anthropist’s Kitchen. I was immediatly drawn into her world when I laid my eyes (and began to drool) over her post about Blackberry Cobbler. Her pictures are absolutely stunning and of professional quality! It also helped that her recipe was very simple and required few ingredients. If you are a fellow foodie (I know you are, don’t deny it!) I encourage you to check her blog out!

I had planned on making the recipe just as she had written it but blackberries were very expencive so I opted for a 3/1 ratio of blackberries and raspberries. I also didn’t realize (until I was settled at home and two beers in) that I did not have lemons or juice on hand so I substituted that with 1/2 a tablespoon of white vinegar. The last change I made was to use 6 ramekins instead of her suggested 8 (the raspberries just melted into the glorious syrup and I didn’t have as much berry filling as I  am guessing I should have had.)

This was delicious!

Oh!

My!

Goodness!

An absolute winner! I will be using this recipe for-ev-errrr!!!!

Below I have copied, pasted, then edited the recipe to reflect the changes (in blue) that I made from Miss Anthropist’s recipe. I strongly encourage you to check out her blog (go there! go there!), my picture does not do her recipe any justice!

Mini Blackberry Raspberry Cobblers Adapted from original recipe located here...

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (omitted)
  • 6 tablespoons cold butter (I only had salted so I omitted the salt recommended above)
  • 1/4 cup boiling water
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup cold water
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice (1/2 TBS white vinegar)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 4 (3)cups fresh blackberries (1 cup raspberries), rinsed and drained

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C).
  2. In a large bowl, mix the flour, 1/2 cup sugar, baking powder, and salt. Cut in butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in 1/4 cup boiling water just until mixture is evenly moist.
  3. In a separate bowl, dissolve the cornstarch in cold water. Mix in remaining 1 cup sugar, lemon juice (vinegar), and blackberries/raspberries.
  4. Transfer to a skillet, and bring to a boil, stirring frequently.
  5. Evenly distribute sauce mixture to 8 (6) ramekins.
  6. Drop dough on top of mixture in the ramekins by spoonfuls.
  7. TO AVOID A MESS, place ramekins on a baking sheet before baking.
  8. Bake 15-20 (25-28)minutes in the preheated oven, until dough is golden brown (whilst cobblers are baking send thousands of texts messages to a friend ~who understands your obsession with baking~ about how fantastic your home smells and how great the treats are going to taste.)

 

Lastly… I want to say that later on this afternoon. I will be announcing the winners, (yes winners ~ and an explanation as to why I picked 2) of the contest I ran a few weeks ago. I will also be including the recipe for the brownies from the first contest I ran a few months ago especially just for Lexi who probably thinks I forgot all about her. I didn’t forget you Lexi, I’m just a true blooded procrastinator!

17 thoughts on “This post is kinda all over the place and I can’t pull it all together in a short and witty title….

  1. Milk for $2.55 a gallon! This cobbler recipe looks amazing. So many places in the South make blackberry cobblers where the crust sort of just falls in the berries…. so good. Definitely a winner, this one. Thanks for the shout out too!

    1. Thanks Metro! I did have a nice birthday 🙂 I thought it it would be the pits but wasn’t so bad.. The cobbler definitely sweetened the weekend up properly!

  2. I am glad also, I’m convinced that this is going to be a great year for me! I believe! I believe! I hope you enjoy her blog as much as I do!

  3. Happy Birthday.
    Penblwyd Hapus!
    This will be a great year for you!
    Was it your birthday today? Also, cracking recipe!

    1. Thank you!! My birthday was actually on Friday but it was a rough one for me so I celebrated on Saturday 🙂 I hope you are right about it being a great year! I will it! I will it!

  4. Sounds like you had a very happy birthday! 🙂 I’m so glad you decided to try the cobbler recipe and it turned out so great…thanks so much for the sweet words about my blog!

    1. Thank you for checking out my site 🙂 I love the recipe, I love your blog! The sweet words were so easy to say because they are true! Cheers!

  5. Happy Birthday!
    “blog stalking”…I do that, too, I just didn’t know the name for it. Seriously, if I worked out half as much as I snooped around WordPress, I’d be fit as a fiddle.

    Cheers, girly!

  6. Happy Birthday! Sounds like a fun day, and I gotta tell ya that I used to love Chi Chi’s too before they went out of business, but I never tried their fried ice cream. : ( I’m never had it in my life, but I hope one day I have the opportunity to see what it’s all about. 🙂

    Your cobbler looks heavenly by the way! I’ll have to do a mix of both blackberries and raspberries. I’ve never done that before but it sounds wonderful! 🙂

  7. Yay Brownies! 🙂
    And I’m definitely going to have to try out this cobbler recipe… though they might be made in french onion soup bowls, because that’s what i’ve got for small-oven-friendly-dishes, classy gal that I am 😛

      1. that’s a really good idea! If I had kids or ramekins, I would definitely copy you! As it is, french onion soup bowls generally make a two or three person serving of whatever I’m making (besides soup) in them… a bit less elegant looking at the end, but still tasty 🙂
        Also, happy belated bday!

Leave a Reply

