Lookin’ At My Back Door

I’m almost ashamed to admit how long this little project has taken me. In fact, I’m not even going to fully disclose the amount of time, but I will say… it’s been over 2 years 6 days.

Of course, not 6 days of working straight. No, it was more like 30 mins here, an hour there and 15 minute crying sessions every time I thought about how long it was taking to accomplish such a simple thing.

I have finally repainted half of the back door.

Mind you, I can paint a rather large room in just a day; taping, primer and two coats of paint all included. In my mind it was quite absurd that I couldn’t get this done in an hour but I kept telling myself to just take my time and do the best I could and most importantly not to get discouraged.

All of the sanding, reaching and having my kids help me get on to a chair without falling has been more than exhausting and way too time consuming but  I’m glad I didn’t give up because it sure does feel good to get something done.

Let’s take a look at the door at the begining of the year.

If you have not seen this photo yet, brace yourself… It’s ugly.

It’s a blurry photo, taken with my iphone, but the blur makes it look better (take my word for it). Broken window, old dingy paint and a failed attempt at a window covering.

How did it get so bad? Well, if you’re really interested to find out you can read about it here.

That post will also explain to you the below picture, which is better but still a bit of a hot mess.

Once again, it’s another blurry picture that  was taken before I got my fancy camera and knew the rules of  sunlight.

I’ve been wanting for years to give that door a fresh coat of paint and since it was something that could be done over a period of days and occupy my mind for a bit each day, I took on the job.

This morning I even made a new mistreatment from a tarp that I bought a few months ago at the Home Depot for around 8$. It’s large enough that when I’m feeling stable enough to not fall and crack my head open someday I’ll be able stand on the counters again and replace my other windows mistreatments with the same fabric.

3 window and 1 door valances for 8$? Unheard of.

Here is what my door looks like today.

Naturally, I’m not fully finished, but for now, this is good enough in my book to cross the 2 items off of my list.

I’ll still need to paint the frame, paint the hinges and get a new door knob. I’m also thinking that I’d like to add a kick plate at the bottom of the door, but I have no idea how much they cost or how they go on.

And then there is the other side of the door but let’s not go there just yet.

18 thoughts on “Lookin’ At My Back Door

  1. Congrats! That looks a million times better already. I am sorry it was so hard on you trying to paint it but hopefully you are rewarded with a great sense of accomplishment. You should be proud of yourself for persevering!

  2. You are a better woman than I… Great job. I am no longer surprised by anything you accomplish.. Everyhthing you do seems to turn out beautiful when your done…

  3. Isn’t it amazing how simple projects are never simple! I remember a paint job that required us to rehang drywall. (The wallpaper had bonded to the wall.) And my wife’s personal favorite was when I fixed the ceiling fan, only to lose my footing and fall part way through the ceiling. My then teenaged sister looked up and said “You fell through the ceiling.” Good thing, I hadn’t even noticed.

    1. Oh my goodness! Falling through the ceiling?! I hope you didn’t get hurt, I’m sure you are a pro at ceiling fans now though, live and learn! Haha I have a few fans I’d like to swap out, maybe you can offer some pointers? 🙂

  4. Thanks Girly! I was trying to brighten it up so I’m glad you said that! I really love the red on the walls but it does make it so dark in there. I have so many windows, if I didn’t it might look like a cave! I’ve been debating on painting the walls a light light cream color but am so in love with the red. Decisions, decisions.

    1. Thanks, I’d really like some of your onion, tomato, chocolate, coffee milk chocolate, oil, caesar in the dressing, salt and pepper salad. It looks to be just what I’d need after a hard 6 days of work. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

