Self-Imposed Chaos for a Cause

Ahh, Mother’s Day…

A day to relax and spend some loving time with your children; Perhaps a day to receive breakfast in bed and maybe even a small token of love and affection wrapped in a bow from the babes.

Or, in my case, a day to be spent arguing with putting the offspring to work in the garden while I slave away in my kitchen to making a delicious meal they will most likely turn their noses up to.

I kid. I kid.

Well, maybe. The day is still young and there are arguments still to be had.

For now though, I’m enjoying a peaceful begining to my holiday. Natalie is still asleep in her bed and Isaac is wreaking havoc at his best buds house.

Oh, quiet morning. It doesn’t get much better than this!

Or does it?

I had mentioned a few posts back that I was really excited about a surprise post I would be adding and I am happy to announce that today is the day!

A short time ago, I ran my very first contest requesting that the lovely residents of blogland submit ideas to me on how to pull a prank on the kids. In exchange for their devilish suggestions I was offering up some super fantastic brownies.

I thought for sure the contest would be of epic proportions and I would be left with an endless list of ways to make the babes squeal.

Yeah. Not so much.

The contest was an epic fail.

I received a whopping total of 2 (yestwo) entries. Of course they were 2 very good entries but I admit my feelings were crushed when the entire world wasn’t pounding down my door with pranks in hand trying to get at my super delish brownies.

Wahh.

Wahh.

Wahh.

(insert tiny violin and a Justin Timberlake song here)

Moving on.

If you haven’t heard me say this before, I’ll say it again and probably 45 more times in the futureI am not a quitter.

Instead of sulking and feeling totally defeated I remained excited and eager to please. It’s not like I didn’t have any contestants for my contest, that would have been embarrassing, and since I was lucky enough to have two entries for the contest I knew that the show must go on!

My sweet-to-the-core blogging friend Dacia, from the super great blog thirtythreeandcounting, was announced as the winner and my little mind got right to work. I couldn’t just send this sweet pea a boring box or paper bag filled with these wonderful fudgey brownies. No way man. I had to express my thanks to Dacia in proper Ginger form and make this a gift she would be sure to remember.

Of course, my life wouldn’t be mine if there weren’t disasters and catastrophes from the time I announced Dacia’s victory to the moment she actually received the prize, but as we all know, I’m a bit of a mess.

Once all of the chaos was sorted out at home, my trusty sidekick and partner in all things beautiful, Natalie and I made it our mission to find the most wonderful and beautiful packaging we could wrap these fantastic brownies in.

Presentation is everything!

Of course, we had no idea what we were doing and it took us quite a while to figure it out as we went from store to store.  After hours of searching and then finally putting the gift together we were rewarded with wonderful time working as a team and impressive results we couldn’t have been more pleased with.

May I present to you some pictures of a gift that was wrapped “really cool”?

The Goods
A gift wrapped really cool

Originally, when I referred to a special surprise, I was just talking about the wrapping of the gift. Wrapping a gift really cool was on my list and it was sure to be a surprise for Dacia who just thought she was getting some really good brownies. I didn’t want to ruin the surprise for her but I couldn’t wait to post the above pictures.

Since quite a few of you expressed excitement to find out what this surprise post was all about (and because Natalie and I had SO MUCH FUN creating this little basket of goodness) I have decided to run another little contest.

This one will require minimal thinking on your part and the gift will certainly be worth a few minutes of your time.

Now, the prize above won’t be the prize that you receive. Oh no. This time the prize will be a wonderful assortment of 3 dozen delectable cookies in some type of really cool different type of wrapping.  The cookie type and packaging will be determined by the creative stylings of Natalie and I, probably the day before it ships.

Yes. I am crazy.

I am also a fantastic baker and Dacia has attested to that in her post here.

Okay, so the way to enter this contest is very simple.  There are only a few things you will need to do:

  • First, go to your Widgets section under your Appearance options on your WordPress Dashboard and add to your page a SocialVibe widget. Yes, folks we are helping other people here! 
  • Pick any cause you would like to support and add it to your page.
  • Leave a comment below indicating you are entering the contest, with a link to your blog and what cause you have chosen to support.
  • Click on my SocialVibe and do an event  (watching a commercial from what I’ve experienced.)
  • Encourage all of your readers to support your cause by clicking on your SocialVibe widget and doing an event. This is free to you and your readers and most importantly provides donations to your cause with every click!

That’s all you need to do! Really, it’s that simple!

Important Details:

This contest will be open from the time this post goes up until 11:59 pm (my time) May 31st. The winner will be the person who has collected on their SocialVibe widget the highest number under the part of the widget that says “My Readers Have Earned.”

This is why it is important to let your viewers know you need their help in supporting your cause!

This contest is open to any WordPress (com or net) user who is located within the continental US or Canada. I really wish that I could open it up to every single one of you but shipping is a small fortune and I have limited funds.

The winner will be announced by 11:59 pm (my time) June 5th and the I will provide my email address for you to send me your shipping address. No PO Boxes can be shipped to unfortunatly, so if you have one of those, please think of another arrangement. On or around June 6th these wonderful treats will be freshly baked, snuggly wrapped and shipped via Fed-Ex to you at your chosen destination. You can have them sent them to your home, office, as a gift. You decide who you want to share (or not share) with.

Additional Information:

If you have any nut allergies please let me know at the time of the shipping email, I will accommodate! Unfortunately, I am not a gluten-free baker and the cookies could be disastrous if I tried, so if you have this restriction in your diet, this contest may not be for you. I have been working in the food industry for almost 15 years and know how to handle food safely and correctly so you need not worry!

I really hope that someone plays!

24 thoughts on “Self-Imposed Chaos for a Cause

  1. Oh I so so want to enter your contest (partly because I am so keen to winner, win/eat cookies and get a so so pretty gift!
    However, I am away from US, so will just track from afar and enjoy the contest that way!
    GOod luck to all!
    Oh and Happy Mothers Day (the UK one was March!)

  2. (in excited pee-pee dance voice): I LOVE CoNTESTS!! 😀

    I chose American Red Cross. Being a military spouse, there is a very special spot in my heart for the folks who pass along life-changing messages to soldiers. Plus, they do that “save the world” stuff in their spare time. 😉

    http://www.yerttle.Wordpress.com/

    (I’ll get my “give ’em money” post up later tonight). Yay!! Awesome contest, Ginger!

  3. The brownies look beautiful! What a fun surprise!

    And also, what an awesome idea for a contest! I only have about 5 readers, so I don’t think I will win your next prize, but it’s such a fun idea I might try it out anyway.

    1. So, I signed up!

      My widget is on http://mylifeslist.wordpress.com/ and I am supporting Donors Choose, which is an awesome organization. It allows donors to select low-income schools to help them get the supplies they need for their classrooms. As an ex-teacher and someone who’s pretty passionate about the issues with education, I love this site, and I was excited to see it included in SocialVibe.

      I clicked on your link, too, but after watching the videos, I didn’t see the counter switch, so I don’t know if it worked or not.

      1. Yay! Thanks for playing! I’m going to check my widget after work today, thanks for the heads up! You picked a great cause, I’ll be doing a task (and everyone else who plays causee aw well so it fair!)

        Good Luck!!

  4. Wow!
    Those brwnies look havenly..the wrapped gift is AMAZING…the picture with the cherry flowers all around it is so beautiful..
    I’m not n the states so I don’t qualify but love the idea of suporting a cause..will check it out

    1. I really tried to be able to open it up to you, but it is 124$ to ship overseas! That’s insanity! How do companies operate? I’m sure they must get some huge deal or something. I was thinking of you tho 😦 wish you could play!

  5. Sweet Ginger it is ok 🙂
    I enjoy playing even if I don’t win…I’ve won a new friend and that is more than enough..
    tried adding the wedget yesterday with no luck..Maybe it is my theme…I will try again today

    1. You are so sweet to me 🙂 I’m lucky to have won a new friend too. Speaking of winning, congrats on your new awards, I’m going to finish commenting on your page 🙂

  6. Ginger, I haven’t even gotten very far reading your blog, and already I am frantic excited for a fun change, because I have been writing awhile, but not sure on all the widget thing, so I wanted to let you know I have added you on my blog roll, and I will get back to figuring out my widget thing for the contest theme thing.
    I LOVE CLEVER stuff like this. Adds Joy to life which I should write that is my main cause, a wish to encourage everyone to find their joy in their life, and share it with others. LOL. I am very sappy and I am touched by sweet gestures and your brownies are so beautifully decorated! (look delicious too!) With this wordy reply I will say my theme will be posted soon. Here is the link to my blog.
    http://starsaroundmysoul.wordpress.com/

      1. That’s your gravatar, it shows up differently on my dashboard. When I get on the computer I’ll see if I can figure it out for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

