It Only Took Five Months

To celebrate the first day of May I decided to finally get my blog fully set up.

It only took me 5 months.

  • This morning… I put up an official about me page that I can be proud of.
  • This afternoon… I changed up my header
  • Lastly… I added a “featured in” widget and moved most of my other already existing widgets around.

So please, take a look around and tell me, what do you think?

I’m definitely open to feedback and I can’t help but wonder ifΒ 1) are my pages are a bit too much on the noisy side and 2) is taking too long to load?

I’m sure I will still change things around in the future and your feedback would certainly help!

In any case, I’m glad to get crossed off another item on the list.Β Now, I am off to be a slave in the kitchen and maybe get another thing or two crossed off before nights end, but for the love of all that’s good, don’t hold your breath.

Cheers!

13 thoughts on “It Only Took Five Months

  1. The page looks good and didn’t take long to load at all. Don’t worry… you’ll continue to move stuff around and change the widgets. You’re never really done. It’s still quite an accomplishment.

  2. I like the changes! I am still trying to figure out things on my blog page so mine is pretty basic. I like what you have done to yours. Looks great!

    1. Thanks Dacia, I like your page a lot, I think it looks really nice. I wasn’t sure if mine was looking too juvenile or not, I’m glad everyone so far has said they liked it. I’m also super glad it’s no taking forever to load πŸ™‚

  3. Blog’s looking great. No problems loading.
    I need to think about committing some time to mine soon, on the visual side. Need to learn more about photo uploads too!
    How did you make your header?

    1. I used picnik.com, it’s free and fun!

      1st >I chose my background print & uploaded it (you can do many things like make collages like I’ve done in some other posts. I started with that for my header because I love the way it looks, but couldn’t find four pictures that complimented each other well enough for a header for me)

      2nd> I added the text and the frame.

      3rd> I tried to crop the image to the header size my theme requires, but it looked distorted so I kept it the size it was.

      4th> I saved the picture to my pc and then I went to my header option under appearance on my wp dashboard and uploaded the picture.
      Then cropped to where I wanted it to line up.

      5th> On the same page (header options) I clicked the little button NO towards the bottom under “Header Text/Display Text” This removes the title and tagline from your page.

      I encourage you to play with picnik it is very easy to use and has a ton of options! If you have any other questions let me know and I’ll try my best to help πŸ™‚

      1. Ginger – THANK YOU SO MUCH for this website recommendation. Much appreciated. It is so easy to use too!
        I have been enjoying playing with it… a lot and now have a new header which I’m working with.

        1. It looks fantastic!! I LOVE that you were able to use the collage feature, they are my favorite! This pictures complement each other so well! Great job! I think you added the calendar also? It looks wonderful! Great job! I’m glad there is a new picnik addict out there lol we might want to start a support group someday, lol soo much fun!

Leave a Reply

