De-cluttered Closet, Bubble Baths and All the Else

This week has been testing to say the least.

When I woke up on Sunday, I admit, I was feeling positive, hopeful and dare I say it, somewhat happy. I took the kids to my parents and we had a very nice Easter dinner. There was no fighting, no yelling, no traffic, a lot of good food and an overall peaceful mood through out the day.

Then Monday rolled around and I woke up in a deep depression. I was so depressed, in fact, that I can’t remember a damn thing I did. I’m sure it involved a lot of crying, but other than that, I am clueless.

On Tuesday, I tried to make the best brownies ever to ship to Dacia for winning the contest I ran oh, A MONTH AGO, but they didn’t turn out AT ALL. As they sat Β in the oven, unbaking, I could see that they were boiling instead of setting. Those stupid things were in the oven for an hour an a half before I finally threw in the towel. My error? I took the “mix sparingly” a little to much to heart. The so called brownies had more lumps of flour balls in them than solid parts of brownie goodness. Disaster. Mind you, I’ve made these before and they are wonderful. Chalk it up to the fact that I have lost my mind.

By Wednesday, I was convinced that I was dying of pain, broken bones, internal bleeding and heartache but forced myself to truck on and get some things done, only because I knew it would make me feel a little more at ease. At 11:30 that night I couldn’t sleep because of the pain and forced my self to try an Epsom sat soak. It worked miracles.

Then came Thursday and I was feeling the best I have felt in three weeks. I was in the least amount of pain I had been in since this whole catastrophe, I was walking somewhat normal and it was the very first day in the past three weeks I didn’t cry. Not one tear.

Of course, today, I made for it by sobbing every other hour and feeling back to my normal stiff, achy pain filled self. All I want to do when I’m feeling like this is to curl into a ball, wail my lungs out, and drown in my tears. Obviously, I can’t do that so I just repeat to myself until I’m sensible “knock it off, he did this! You are doing the right thing.” I’m sure people think can see that I’ve lost my mind when I’m repeating this mantra to myself in public areas, but you know what, I feel like I’ve lost my mind, so let them think it.

My bosses have been very supportive with me and are helping me out in ways that I cannot even begin to tell you. It’s funny when now that I look back at the times that I thought I was so alone and sometimes even felt disliked by everyone that now I can see clearly that there are so many people that I matter to. There are so many people who care and are offering help to me and the kids. I am forever thankful to my bosses, my coworkers, my family and my friends. Someday I will show them how much they are helping me, someway, somehow. Maybe I’ll make them all cupcakes but if that goes anything like the way I’ve been trying to make Dacia’s brownies, I’m sure it will be in like ten years before they actually get them.

I am going to make her the best brownies ever by tomorrow afternoon and get them shipped tomorrow. Sorry, Dacia. I suck x’s 2., keep the faith.

Looking back over the past three weeks though I have accomplished some things on my list:

  • Reorganize the bathroom closet
  • Get rid of 4 towels and replace with 4 new (I’ve actually decided this was stupid. We have 50 or so towels. We do not need any more, in fact I got rid of 6. Off the list and pat on the back for common sense)
  • Take a bubble bath
  • Purge old beauty products

Not too many things, but some is better than none and I’m taking life one day at a time. Getting out of bed in the morning when you want to flat out give up should be on the list, but it’s not (yet) so I’m happy with the 4 I did do from the list.

12 thoughts on “De-cluttered Closet, Bubble Baths and All the Else

    1. Thank you for your kind words, I agree with you about declutterig and organizing, simple is a wonderful motto. I read on your about page that you were featured on freshly pressed, I was also πŸ™‚ I’ll have to check out your blog some more, maybe I’ll find some more tips. Thanks for reading and it’s nice to meet you!

    1. Thank you, the tears I’m sure will be helpful when I look back but really all I want is a real life hug, yours through the computer sure did make me smile though, so thank you πŸ™‚ have a great weekend!

      ❀

  1. Sweet Ginger…I wish I could reach out and hug you..
    Hang in there..You ARE doing the right thing…no one said it was easy.. but it will get better soon..my mantra when things get tough is (This too shall pass)..and something great is going to come your way..I just know it…

    What you are going through is normal after abuse..(If you can even put abuse and normal in one sentence)..you know what you should do?
    Add a (Things I achieved..and I am proud of ) list include stuff like being featured on freshly pressed..(They chose you out of hundreds of thousands because you are special and have something unique)..
    Add the fact that you finally stood up for your self and said no more..you are braver than millions of women out there who go through this and don’t have the courage to do anything about it

    Add the fact that you set an example to your daughter and your son..and that for them the past will not destroy the future…

    I know that I am proud of you and really glad that I got to know a special person like you.. just hang in there angel…it will be better soon

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words and support. You are so sweet to me and I took your advice. I know time will pass and things will get better. Thanks again for being so kind, it truly means a lot.

  2. Once you get that brownie recipe down and functional, I hope you’ll be posting it! Despite the lack of success this one time, it sounds sooo tasty.
    Also, give it time… you will stop feeling awful, and yes, you are doing the right thing.

    1. Hey Lexi, thanks for your encouraging words. I wasn’t planning on posting the recipe, but since you are such a sweetheart and you also gave such a funny prank idea I will do it, just for you! Give me a few days, I want to make sure Dacia receives them first!

  3. Please, please, please don’t worry about the brownies. I am honored that you would do such a kind thing but I really don’t need anything. If making them provides you with a needed distraction, please make them, but do not feel obligated to do so. I appreciate the thought more than anything! You really are too sweet!

    1. Girl, they are already made and I am utilizing every ounce of will power I have to not eat them lol. You will be getting them any day now πŸ™‚ Sorry it took forever and thanks for being so understanding!

  4. I just wanted to let all of Ginger’s readers know that her brownies are by far the best brownies I have ever eaten and I am a fat girl with a sweet tooth, a pretty reputable source. Not only were the brownies yummy and delicious she wrapped each brownie in little bags decorated with stickers which were placed inside a colander lined with different color/pattern tissue paper with scalloped edges, wrapped up and tied at the top with some ribbon and a beautiful bow. She totally made my day, I don’t ever think I have received a gift so beautifully wrapped before. It really was spectacular!

Leave a Reply

