Minor Problem Turned Major Catastrophe

This past Saturday morning started off simple enough but quickly turned into the never ending weekend from hell.

Like most other Saturday’s, I tiptoed around quietly, being extra careful as to not wake up the maniacs kids. As I had my coffee, I played around with my camera and took some pictures of the awesome goodies I brought home from the free table the day before.

After about 30 or so shots I had what turned out to be a pretty cool picture of my junk treasures:

 

Free Table Finds: New Used Wallet & Seeds

 

Fantastic!It was going to be a great day!

I figured that with all of the luck I had been having lately, maybe, I became some super lady who was able to concur anything that I set out to do.

I surely didn’t want to waste my new found power so I decided it was high time to tackle the leaky faucet in the kitchen sink.

Hmm. Can you figure out where this might be going?

Sigh.

Anyway, I did some extensive research by googling “replacing a washer kitchen faucet” and read what seemed to be a fairly knowledgeable person’s instructions.

Sweet! I can handle this.

I grabbed a screwdriver , my camera (this could be a tutorial!) a few washers and followed the smart persons steps.

I didn’t get much further than step number 2 though because when I pulled, pried and finally cursed the handle out of the faucet I noticed that it was broken.

That wasn’t supposed to happen, it was my lucky day, remember?

No worries!

I ran downstairs to grab the alternative set of handles that the faucet came with, which the old owners of the home were kind enough to leave us.

“In case you want to switch the look,” I remembered the man saying to me at closing, me thinking he was such a nice guy.

Full of false hope, I ran back upstairs and got back to my project. I tried and tried and tried to get the stuck in there forever piece out but it wasn’t happening. I tried for a good hour before I finally abandon ship.

I stormed upstairs robbed Huz blind while muttering a lot of choice words about having to go to Lowes.

I brought the monsters with me and while Isaac climbed all over the shelves and played with a HUGE magnet to touch everything in eyesight with, Nan helped me pick out a few options for a new faucet.

I wasn’t sure which one I wanted and who the heck knew faucets could be so flipping expensive? Naturally, I wanted to make sure I was getting the best price for such a rediculously overpriced hunk of metal and Isaac was starting to get yelled at by strangers, so back home we went.

I googled again.

I looked at Home Depot and Lowes then Home Depot again and back to Lowes. I’m glad I flipped back and forth so many times cause Lowes finally gave me a pop up $10 coupon off a $50 purchase. I also took an hour to watch about 800 youtube videos on how to replace a faucet. That’s right, I learned from the previous experience (a mere two hours ago) that one article was NOT going to help me.

I made my list of supplies, printed my coupon and asked the Huz to go. He thought I wanted his opinion, really I just wanted his credit card.

(We held hands in the car on the way to the store. We don’t do that often and it was on my list so I had to throw it in there.)

Anyway, with minimal fighting in the store and me only stomping off once, we ended up picking out the most cheapest more sensible faucet of the two that I was debating on. When we got back home he resumed his spot on the couch in front of the dumb sports game and I got down to business.

It only took about an hour to replace the faucet, it wasn’t hard!

Sure, I cursed and even said to huz “Now I understand why my Dad was always cursing when he was under the sink!” Well, I didn’t actually say it, I kinda yelled it in a very deep and angry tone but I am kinda dramatic sometimes and he knows it.

Yay me! I’m happy. I’m proud. I’m feeling good and ready to concour the mountain of dirty dishes on the counter that I didn’t wash before trying to fix the leaking old faucet.

So, all is good in the world and I’m getting things done, still way proud of myself and wait, do you really think things would just be an easy fix like that?

No way, Jose’.

After I got all of the dishes clean and drained the water from the sink I felt something hitting my leg and looked down.

Mother effer. YUP. It was bad enough for the big word.

The stupid flipping drain pipe was disconnected. How did it get disconnected? I guess I did it. Who knows? The point is, now I have a faucet and clean dishes but 4 inches of dirty dish water in my cabinets that overflowing onto the floor.

This has got to be one of the worst Saturdays I’ve had in a long time.

So, now all of the stuff that I didn’t remove from the cabinet earlier was soaked and needed to be removed.

I was so disgusted.

I cleaned everything off, dried it all and lined it up neatly on the counter so I would feel somewhat better about the disaster that was my kitchen.

Huz fixed the drain pipe and I went to bed.

Not a happy girl.

I woke up feeling optimistic the next morning and left the house by 8am. I planned on getting new contact paper to put in the cabinets. I made my way over to Target and didn’t like their offering but grabbed some cat food and picture hangers for a gallery wall we are putting in Natalies room.

Still with a positive attitude, I stopped back at home to grab a coupon for Bed Bath and Beyond because surely they would have a better selection than Target. I putted around the store for a good hour before leaving empty handed.

From there I went to TJ Maxx, no contact paper but they had a great LOVE sign and a table cloth so I bought them and decided to try the Target next door. Same stuff different store.

I was now way past the point of aggravation

I stopped in Walgreens, knowing the outcome… no luck.

What the hell is going on? It’s a flipping conspiracy.

It’s like 3:30 on Sunday and all I’ve been doing is walking around in stores all day and no one has pretty blue contact paper. I went back home AGAIN and guess what I did?

Yup. I googled contact paper and found some likeable stuff at the Home Depot. I jumped back into the car.

I was so happy to finally find 2 prints that I liked that I bought enough to contact my entire house. Inside and out. I’m sure the cashier thought I was insane.

At home, I got back to work and all of the flooded out cabinets were contacted (he-he. I don’t know why that’s funny but it is) and organized. I even got some of the drawers done.

I worked on some of the other drawers tonight too but I finally had to stop because  think I’m high from the glue. And definitely sick of my kitchen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Minor Problem Turned Major Catastrophe

  1. Great job! Sorry you had to go through such an ordeal to get there. At least you know that you can do it again if needed and ultimately saved yourself a ton of money by doing it yourself and not calling in a professional. I, too, find myself muttering curse words under my breath as well as throwing some condescending remarks at my husband whenever I am in a situation like yours. You definitely seemed to handle it better than most people would. Congrats!

  2. Thanks, Dacia! I certainly am happy that I did it myself but I feel like everything I try to fix ends up like this… a HUGE mess. I’m glad I’m not alone in these types of situations!

  3. Love your sense of humor! I also have an Isaac, and recently had a very similar incident. I heard what sounded like a steady rain fall, only to discover that it was indeed “raining”, UNDER my sink!!! Flooded cabinets, flooded floor. The only positive was that I finally took the time to clean the scary space under the sink 🙂
    I look forward to reading more of your posts!

  4. I thought under my sink was scary too! That’s so funny you said that! We seem to have a quite bit in common and I am sooo making those lovely vanilla and orange cupcakes you have on your blog this weekend! It’s very nice to meet you!

    1. Nice to meet you as well! And I agree we seem to have a lot in common. How old is YOUR Isaac? My little guy is 4, I also have a 12 year old son and 9 year old daughter.
      Let me know how you like the cupcakes. I am going to be making Irish Car Bomb cupcakes this weekend (time permitting) , post to follow. Have a wonderful day!

      1. My son is 11 going on 23 and my daughter is 12 going on 13. I’m sure you can relate, seeing as you have a 12 year old boy, too (please say you can because I want to believe he’s normal).

        I will let you know for sure about the cupcakes, I am really excited to make them, they look DELISH! I’m super excited to see the Car Bomb cupcakes, they remind me of a crazy drink (hmm) and can’t imagine what will be in them! In fact, subscribing now so I don’t miss them! 🙂

  5. Yes, yes , yes I can relate! I like to think that all kids are ab-NORMAL 😉 my 4 year old acts like he is a teenager, which creates lovely chaos to our house.
    Does the drink your thinking of have Bailey’s Irish Cream?

    Yay! for the subscription, that is exciting to me. 🙂

    1. Umm, I’m not sure exactly what was in the drink, but I do know it was a shot of something, maybe Bailey’s, that was dropped into a mug of beer. Yikes, I can’t believe how brave I used to be! In any case, your cupcakes sound very interesting and I just know they will be waaaay better than that wacky drink!

Leave a Reply

