Best Friday Night Budget Wine

It’s Friday night which has always been my favorite night of the week. When I was cool younger I would be almost ready to head out of the door for a night of drinking and grinding on a dance floor in some club downtown. I’d be dressed in something skimpy and uber trendy, smelling great and oblivious to the fact that Saturday I would be broke and there would be hell to pay after facing an all nighter.

Now a days at 10 o’clock on a Friday night I am smitten to be sitting in sweats and listening to the radio drinking a glass (or two) of wine, knowing my alarm wont be going off at 5:45 am.  I know, I know, age has started to get to me, but honestly, I love that I am not in my 20’s anymore and I love that I enjoy drinking wine and not 5 dollar shots. 10 years ago I’d probably spend an easy 65$ on shots, beer and tips when I was out “celebrating” just because it was a Friday night.

Yikes.

But in the past 10 years I’ve grown, I’ve mellowed, I’ve acquired responsibility and I’d rather buy a few nights worth of dinner or an outfit or a set of dishes with that money I once so foolishly disposed of so freely. This does not make me a stick in the mud though (who even says that). I’m still a party girl at heart and even broke old lady’s who like to buy china can afford to drink on a Friday night.

So, without further ado, I’d like to introduce you to a wonderful wine I’ve found… It’s fruity, rich and very leave in your mouth for a moment worthy. It’s called Barefoot Merlot and it’s under 15$ for a 1.5 liter bottle. It’s great with food (especially burgers or pot roast) and its great on its own. Pour a bit into a beautiful vintage wine glass you’ve gotten from a thrift store or a generous family member and let yourself wonder what was so appealing about wearing tight pants and uncomfortable shoes in an over crowded (and over priced) night club. Do you have a favorite wine under 15$ that makes you happy for a Friday night at home?

Cheers and TGIF 🙂

4 thoughts on “Best Friday Night Budget Wine

  1. two of our favorites are Red Truck Wine, and Pinot Evil (spoof off See No Evil) both are under $15 and if you like dessert wines try a mascato or riesling, which you can find a good bottle for around $15 – I have a recipe for white peaches soaked in riesling, let me know if you want it. 🙂

  2. I know this post is from 2011, but I couldn’t resist because you wrote about my number one favorite thing ever! Wine! I love wine! And just like you, I used to go out and party in my 20s, spending way too much money on beer, mixed fruity drinks, and shots. Well, actually, I’d get all the boys to buy me drinks, but still I had my moments of wasting money on the club drinks. And I’d wear skimpy outfits, too! LOL In fact, I met my husband at a club! lol But now, I, too, love wine. I love taking my time and sipping. I love it with dessert and by itself. I like to have a glass of wine when I watch my favorite show and when I write.

    My go-to wine brand right now is Woodridge Merlot. Every now and then I get Sutter Home. I love Merlot! I like Moscato, too, but it’s so sweet that if you’re not careful you’ll end up drinking way too much and pay for it the next day.

    I think it’s funny how a lot of mom’s prefer wine. I think wine is good, too, because you can have a glass or two and feel relaxed and not yuck the following morning like I remember I used to in my party days!

Leave a Reply

